Posted by: Ingrid | January 1, 2013

2012: A Year in Review

I saw this on Laura’s blog Navigating the Mothership this morning and liked the format so I shamelessly copied and pasted (thanks, Laura!).  If I can remember to do it annually it will be fun to look at someday when I have nothing left to do but read through my old blog entries.  Which will probably be never.

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

Parented 2 children.  All year long.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

2012 resolutions – the good:  We didn’t get pregnant, I was able to resume running again, we planted a garden over the summer, ate a lot more naturally while on a budget, saved money despite job loss and limited income, scheduled cleaning around the house better, and managed to get rid of some stuff.

The bad:

Completely dropped any of the formalized prayer stuff once husband lost his job, did horribly in terms of coming to terms with a sustainable running weight and good eating, didn’t write, didn’t particularly enjoy a good deal of the “now” moments or the moments with toddler-turned-preschooler.

I do not currently have any nicely formulated paragraphs of resolutions printed out right now.  Of course, I would would like to come to better terms with a few things; my relationship with my kids, my body, friends, the church in general, and God.  Just the little things, you know?  For more formal cross-off-the-list goals:

-Run a marathon (better yet, two)

-Start and finish microbiology

-Get into Nursing school

-Get more organized

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Several friends have had babies and one is slightly overdue as I type this.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What places did you visit?

We visited Florida in February (my first time) and went to Disney World for a day.  We also made it to Champaign twice and over to South Bend twice as well.  Losing a job plus small children does not equal world travel.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

A happier and more optimistic outlook on life and better parenting skills.

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

February 13th, the day before we were scheduled to fly out to Florida for our big vacation, husband got word that he would be losing his job in six months.  Nothing is going to kill a fun vacation mood faster than that.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I am going to go with several here: 3 running PR’s, keeping our grocery budget at under $200 per month, making homemade bread all year, and keeping two small children alive.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Again we have several; inability to parent in a way that makes any difference to my three year old, not keeping my weight stable and/or losing a bit more, zero success in potty training Isaac.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Not really.  Maybe a couple of minor colds.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A used food processor for $15.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My husband’s for trying to give me time alone when we are dealing with a crazy schedule and two crazy (loud) kids.

13. Where did most of your money go?

Sending our new old cars to the mechanic every other week.

14. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

When my fairy godmother spirited me away for an evening of magic and fun! :-)

15. What songs will always remind you of 2012?

All the Poor and Powerless by Sons & Daughters and Who Knew by Pink.

16. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Sadder.
b) thinner or fatter? Thinner than this time last year but heavier than I was two months ago.
c) richer or poorer? This is hard.  On paper we are about the same.  Income-wise however, we dropped significantly below the poverty line the last half of 2012.

17. What do you wish you’d done more of?
I wish I’d slept more, had more fun, and spent more time with friends.

18. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying and feeling blah.

19. How did you spend Christmas?

We spent Christmas quietly at home alone.  Or as quietly as two small children can be when presents are involved.

20. Did you fall in love in 2012?

I fell in love with Trader Joe’s peanut butter.

21. What was your favorite TV program?
We don’t have a TV but let’s hear it for Hulu and streaming online, yes?  I enjoyed Call the Midwife on PBS.com.  I will also admit (somewhat guiltily) to enjoying Grey’s Anatomy and Glee.

22. What was the best book you read?
I read 140 books last year (not counting kid’s books, of course).  Lots of books I enjoyed but not one that tops them all.  I did discover that I really enjoy Distopian lit.

23. What was your greatest musical discovery?
That our piano is insanely out of tune and it costs more to tune it here than it did in California.

24. What did you want and get?
To run again without pain all year.

25. What did you want and not get?
Stability, security, and a three year old who I can make sense of.

26. What was your favorite film of this year?
I don’t remember seeing any movies this year.  I am sure I saw at least one though.  Maybe my brain is just not functioning optimally.  I look forward to seeing The Hobbit, however.  Oh, I remember!  I saw Hunger Games, possibly twice.  I liked the books better though.  If you want to go for life changing films, Food Inc. rates pretty high up there.

27. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 33. We got our Christmas tree, ran around town collecting birthday “freebies” and spent nearly two-thirds of our going-out budget doing so.  There is no free lunch, dinner, or breakfast, it turns out.  Not even on your birthday.

28. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Running a marathon and qualifying for Boston.  Also, discovering that house elves really exist and were here to make my life easier.

29. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

I’m supposed to have a personal fashion concept?  I don’t think I even understand what that means but I know enough to wish that I had one.

30. What kept you sane?

Running and peanut butter and Pink’s music and baby kisses.

31. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Um.  I grocery shop with two small children and coupons now.  Any time catching up with celebrities in the grocery line is long long gone.

32. What political issue stirred you the most?

I am not one to go in for gun control, typically, but after the Connecticut shootings a few weeks ago I really wanted someone to take all the guns away and send everyone to a psychiatrist.

33. Who did you miss?

My mom, my sister, and my I/ENFJ friends.

34. Who was the best new person you met?

Kate, who trained me for six weeks this fall and introduced me to the craziness that is Crossfit.

35. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

Never do ab work with a toddling baby in the room.  Also, never trust a three-year-old who is pretending to be a shark.

36. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Such a hard one!  I would have to go with Alanis Morissette’s Not as We.

Reborn and shivering
Spat out on new terrain

Unsure unconvincing
This faint and shaky hour

Day one day one start over again
Step one step one
I’m barely making sense for now
I’m faking it ’til I’m pseudo making it


Responses

  1. I am with you on #6 “A happier and more optimistic outlook on life and better parenting skills.” I need this too, my attitude this year needs work and my parenting has suffered due to this :(
    How did you keep the grocery budget that low? I am so close to walking away from a dreaded job to stay home and know I need to cut spending to do this.
    Good luck in 2013 and hope it is a great year all around :)

  2. #14 made me smile.

    • #14 made me want to twirl in circles and throw glitter in the air!

  3. I love this list. Some random thoughts: 1. OH HEY are you INFJ too? I thought I was the only one. 2. Spending $200/month on groceries for 4 is really impressive, especially given your commitment to eating healthy. 3, Fairy godmother wheeeee! 4. The amount of reading you do is almost as impressive as your grocery skillz! 5. I need to worry less and feel less blah too…in fact that’s probably my top new year’s resolution, because I think that things like “being a more patient parent” happen naturally if you get your stress levels under control. 6. GOOD LUCK to your husband in finding a job. 7. Happy new year!

    • Thanks for the comment! (And I look forward to hearing more about running and about your not-so-little-one in the new year). Yes, I am an INFJ, though I was raised with a very strong S mother so I can passably swap the N for S when needed. I think I will make up a glittery t-shirt that says something about my mad grocery “skillz”. :-) That made me smile!

  4. I love this list. So many comments but one that jumps to mind is that the last sentence in 22 might be directly related to 18. I echo the others admiration in keeping your grocery bill under $200. Re: the parenting not making a difference… I think it is like healing from a injury for a long time you feel like there is no improvement then one day all the stretching, rest, icing, strengthening suddenly kicks in and you can run again… I really think a day is coming where our 3.5 year olds suddenly turn the corner and become easier.

    • I am glad that someone else has a 3.5 year old that they would not consider to be an easy child! So many days I am left wondering what is wrong with me… or him… or us in general. Three is a hard age! Oddly enough, I never heard that from anyone until AFTER Isaac turned three and then all sorts of people began making comments about how difficult 3 year old’s are. Would have been nice to know before, if only to prepare myself. :-p

  5. I love reading these surveys. I feel the same about many of your responses. And I think I mentioned it on my blog, but Moxie (blogger) referred to some book from the 70s or something where basically say the only way to deal with 3-year-olds is to outsource…i.e. let someone else deal with them! Haha :)

    • Outsourcing my 3-year-old… there is a resolution I could make and keep for 2013! :-p


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

