Posted by: Ingrid | January 2, 2013

December Reading

Well, not surprisingly, I didn’t make my 150 book goal.  Once I hit 140 on December 29th I decided to call it good and devote my attention to other things.  140 is great, especially with small children around.

The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry – Kathleen Flinn: A memoir from Kathleen’s days at Cordon Bleu.  I really enjoyed the book and have zero interest in French cooking now!

The Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Parenting – Do you want a tongue-in-cheek, almost believable laugh at parenting?  This is it.

The Constantine Codex – Paul L. Maier

Skipping Christmas – John Grisham: A fun Christmas read.

Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance – Lois McMaster Bujold: A fun Bujoldian romp, though a little weird to have a very secondary character as the main character of this book.  Ah, Ivan. :-)

Emily of Deep Valley – L.M. Lovelace:  A reminder of junior high when I read a lot of her books.

A Wallflower Christmas – Lisa Kleypas

Selected Poetry by Edna St. Vincent Millay

Lessons from Madame Chic – Jennifer L. Scott: Great read!  Maybe I will blog more about it later.

The Paleo Diet Cookbook – Loren Cordain: Just another bit of affirmation that the Paleo diet is not for me.

The Other Side of Goodness – Vanessa Davis Griggs: One of those books where you hit the last page and go, “Oh, was that the end?”

Snack Attack – Ruth Glick: I’d hoped for some good snack ideas but this wasn’t a big help.

The Sheep, the Angel, and Walter the Christmas Miracle Dog – Dave Barry

Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus – Edited by Nancy Guthrie: Advent reading

Eight Little Faces – Kate Gosselin

The Path of Freedom – Henri Nouwen

Home Made Simple 

The Shadow Girls – Hennig Mankell: It took me forever to read this book!  I finished it, but there was something about the flow of the story that I had a hard time with.

Ring of Endless Light – Madeleine L’Engle: A good way to end the reading year.

Now on to bigger (though not necessarily better) things.  804 pages of fun for me!

micro

Responses

  1. Hey! This is probably an odd question, but I have way too many books. Um, do you want any of them? No seriously. I was going to give a bunch to Oxfam, but if I can help a fellow runner/reader meet her book total for 2013, why not? And then you can donate them when you’re done, if you don’t want the clutter in your house. Also, Who doesn’t want a surprise package from Germany :) I think you can see my email on the comment form, so send me an email if you’re interested.

    • Oooh, you have appealed to both my love for books and for mail. And from Germany at that! I will email you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

