Posted by: Ingrid | February 10, 2013

Marathon Training: Week 5

There is always that sense of foreboding after a bad running week, with the fear that running and training will just get worse and worse.  Because of that, it was nice to hit the treadmill on Monday morning for my workout and have it go well.  I got in all three of my key workouts this week and only missed one of the five runs I had planned.  That’s what I like about not feeling like every workout needs to be done.  If I can’t fit in my easy miles, it’s okay(ish).  We are looking at a week of pretty decent temperatures ahead, and I am really happy about that!  I vaguely remember a time when I could throw on shorts and a shirt before running but it seems like such a long time ago.

Miles run: 41

Schedule:

M: 7 miles on treadmill, 2 mile warmup, 2 minute×4 fartleks with 1 minute jog in between at 6:45, then 1 mile at 6:45, 25 minutes weights

T: 5 easy miles – didn’t even take a watch

W:  11 miles at 8:10 pace, abs

R: 20 minutes weights, 30 minutes biking, 30 minutes elliptical

F: Missed my morning easy 4 so I did 45 easy minutes on the bike instead, abs

S: 18 miles outside (goal pace: 8:11, average pace 8:04), lots of stretching and a 17 minute yoga for runners youtube video

S: Day off, abs, maybe some yoga to stretch later on

Long Run: Definitely a little sore after yesterdays run.  I slept in, got up at 8:00, ate banana, peanut butter, coffee, and oatmeal at 8:20, and was out the door by 9:00.  My ipod said it was 1 degree but I really think it was about 10 by then.  The sun was out, the roads were clear, and there was just a little wind.  I mostly ran country roads, up and down hills, after the first three miles in town.  I was supposed to try to keep a steady 8:11 pace but got too concerned with being on track the first couple of miles and hit a few 7:40′s.  Most of my miles clocked in around 8:06, with a few hitting 8:12.  Finished in 2:25.15 for an 8:04 average.  All in all, it was a good run, though I definitely had to talk myself through the last few miles.  I carried four water bottles on my fuel belt and took Gu at miles 6 and 14 and three shot blocks around mile 10.  I feel like eating and drinking while running is already hard enough and then winter makes it ridiculous!  All of my water bottles froze up so I had to unscrew the caps in order to drink.  I had to put the Gu and Blocks in my glove to warm them up about two miles before actually taking them.  Then there was the on again off again of my right glove in order to do all that.  Sometimes I feel like I am flailing around out there while trying to run fast in a straight line.  I guess it’s lucky I didn’t slip on an ice patch or run into a tree!  It felt so good to finish up the run yesterday.  It feels like things are back on track, at least for a little while.

Triumphs: Getting in all three key workouts this week was definitely a triumph!  Best triumphant moment happened at the point during my long run when I was almost at the turn around point and got to a place where someone has grafitied across the entire road: The End is Near.  I am going to give them credit for creativity and humor because they wrote it a few tenths of a mile before the road T’s at a stop sign.  Indeed, the end (of that road) really is near.  It felt good to know that all I had to do was turn around and run 5 more miles home.

Fears: Nothing specific.  I just know that winter weather and moods are unpredictable and I am only almost a third of the way through.  I think I can, I think I can.

Injuries:  Felt really good after the tempo run and mid-week long run, right side is sore after my long run so I am doing lots of rolling.

Responses

  1. Great job and yes, so important to be okay with skipping easy runs if needed. The important thing is quality miles :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

