Posted by: Ingrid | July 18, 2013

Bumpdate: 26 Weeks

Due Date: October 24.  Feels like For-ev-er.

Weight Gain:  Last week was one of those really bad freak-out-about-gaining-4-pounds-in-six-days-weeks.  Thanks to eating somewhat better I am back down a few for a 14 pound gain overall.  Says a pregnancy website:”You will only get larger as your pregnancy progresses. Your pregnancy weight gain at 26 weeks pregnant is already at least 18 or 19 pounds for a normal-sized woman.” – My favorite idiotic statement from today.  Seriously?  Though seeing that amount of weight gain described as normal makes me feel slightly better.

Symptoms: Really it’s just tiredness and feeling big right now.  Which, since it’s summer, I have two small children, and I am almost about to enter the third trimester, makes a good deal of sense.  I have also hit the point in running where I sometimes get weird side cramps and have to push on my stomach for the first 1-2 miles to get the baby into a better position.

What’s different this time:  I am thinking more about survival until Squirt arrives rather than thinking about what to do after.  I should probably think about both, right?

Cravings/Aversions:  Oh, ripe delicious peaches, how I love you!  Also, eating my daily plate of eggs has turned into something of an ecstatic experience.

Sleep: Sleep has been okay, but flipping from side to side with my worn out Walmart body pillow is getting old.  I am very much a stomach sleeper.

I am loving:  Isaac is no longer pooping his pants and Jonathan is no longer nursing.  We have progress.

I miss:  Having a flat stomach that can be slept on.

Are you nesting?  No.  Though occasionally I work on the list of projects-that-would-make-life-feel-better-if-only-they-were-done-before-baby-arrives. Then I take a nap.  (Actually, I’m kidding about the nap part.  After doing projects I voraciously read whatever Young Adult Dystopian fiction I can get my hands on so that I can escape my life for a  much more depressing alternative.)

Milestones:  Less than 100 days to go!  That sounds like a milestone to me.  (Commences singing: 98 days of baby in the belly, 98 days of baby…)

Best moment this week:  Getting flowers and 11 pounds of peaches from my husband at the same time.

I am stressing over:  Same litany of worries: buying a minivan, weight gain, dealing with Isaac, the fall schedule, as well as the feeling that our life is a giant puzzle and none of the pieces quite fit right now.

Movement:  This is a squirmy baby!

It’s a:  Baby.

Exercise:  Ran 27 miles over 4 days last week and the groin pain was gone by the end of the week.  Also, cross trained and did weights once.

Diet: Trying to drink lots of water since it has been horribly hot and humid.  Eating lots of fruit but getting annoyed that I am not willing to eat as clean as I would like to be eating.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Trying to bump back up to 5 days of running for a total of 30 miles this week (fingers crossed).  I did three days in row (17 miles total) and the rest of the mileage hangs on a 4 miler on Friday and a 10 miler (Eek!) on Saturday.  Two days of cross training and weights are also (hopefully) in the cards, unless I need a day off after my long run.

Belly Shot: 

IMG_2678

Responses

  1. You’re so cute and tiny!!! :)

    • Thanks, Stefanie! For some reason when I am pregnant, the camera makes me look smaller rather than larger. Really!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

