Posted by: Ingrid | August 22, 2013

Bumpdate: 31 Weeks

Due Date: October 24.  Slowly counting down.  Dipping down into the 60’s!  In true form (and just like I would do for a long run) I am portioning off increments.  Get to 32 weeks, 35, 37, 40, etc.  Some days 9 weeks feels short.  Mostly it does not.

Weight Gain:  So I didn’t weigh myself for 4 days (while I was getting ready for the half).  Discovered that in 4 days plus a half marathon I had gone up 4.5 pounds.  I fortunately remembered that when I did longer runs with Jonathan I always retained excess water for a few days so I didn’t entirely freak out.  So I am seeing how long I can keep to my idea of a GD diet and see how that goes.  So about 18-ish pounds up currently.

Symptoms: Extreme jealousy of my August friends who are having their babies.  Three people were due in a 2 week span and in three days all the babies were out.  All girls.  Which means that I won’t be able to have a girl because they took them all.  Also, our humidity is back with a vengeance and doing nothing except making me feel like a tired beached whale.

What’s different this time: I ran a half marathon at 30.5 weeks and felt great!  After not running most of the last pregnancy I didn’t think that was going to be on the “to do” list.  I am also still not wearing the belly band that I wore all the time with Isaac while running.

Cravings/Aversions:  Craving salt and protein, berries, cantaloupe, and peanut butter (straight from the jar).  And I can put away lunch meat like nobody’s business, Listeria be darned.

Sleep: Sleep.  Mmmm.  Two very very bad nights and two other nights during which I ended up on the couch.  Not fun.  I am cranky and don’t function well on minimal sleep, particularly if I have to interact with young humans.  Last night I went to bed at 10:30 and then was woken up at 4:10 and have been unable to go back to sleep because of children randomly waking up.  Today I am not a fan of children at all.

I am loving:  That the half went great and that running is still feeling (relatively) good.  I also got to see Squirt on the ultrasound last Thursday… he/she is already head down and engaged and even has some fuzzy hair!

I miss:  Pants and shorts that button and zip.  I am hitting the stage where elastic that is too tight in the morning and too lose by evening is getting old.

Are you nesting?  Birthday decor is still going strong.  I am thinking on and off of exploring our “baby box” section in the basement, more in desperate hopes that I will find our boy name list from the first pregnancy in one of the boxes.  So in short, not nesting.

Milestones: I have hit the start of 8 months and have also hit the point where I am in the single digits in terms of weeks left.  Sort of the equivalent of hitting 10 weeks at the beginning.

Best moment this week:  Hitting mile 9 at the half marathon (don’t get me wrong, the finish was fabulous too).  That was a great “runner’s high” moment.

I am stressing over:  Oh, let’s not just pick one.  Between our car and our new van we have roughly $2000 of work to do, after already doing work on both of them.  Couple that with zero income for 3 months and that’s lots of fun.  Husband’s teaching schedule starts today.  Four months until Christmas break.  I am tired and tired and more tired and don’t want to deal with kids or pregnancy ever again (did I mention being tired and cranky?).  If anyone out there is debating whether or not to have children, I suggest not.  The end.

Movement:  Lots of movement, which is always reassuring.

It’s a:  Still going with the boy guess.  Heart rate was 133 at the ultrasound.  Maybe I produce children of both genders with low heart rates, but somehow I doubt it.

Exercise:  Finished at 30.1 miles last week after the half marathon.  Did three days of cross training and weights.

Diet: Better once I finished up the frosting and cake!  Also better since trying to clean up my eating/drink more water, and limit carbs.  Good times in pregnancy land.

Exercise goal for the upcoming week:  Stick to my plan of staying close to 25 miles this week.  I felt so good after the half that I didn’t take the next day off and biked.  Then I did a 6 mile run the following day.  I need to remember to pull back a bit so that I can feel good and get in a 9 miler this weekend!  Hoping to hit weights twice and cross train.

Belly Shot: 

IMG_3343

IMG_3348

Responses

  1. did you ever get an ultrasound at the beginning, before 12 weeks? if so, do you know if your placenta was on the left or right. there was a study done and it was correct for my boy. for my girl, she didn’t want us to know at the ultrasound, the placenta was in the middle & top of my belly and her heart rate was always right in the boy/girl line. right around 140bpm. i guess you will find out soon enough but it’s fun to guess. “they” say, if you arent hoping for a certain sex, a little over half of women have a correct feeling of gender. there’s also the whole “angle of the dangle” where they say ah, google it. lol. i am hoping for a girl for you. besides, what are the chances of 3 boys in a row really…?

    • I would agree with the “what are the odds” comments if I didn’t have several friends who have 3 boys (or 3 girls) and one friend who was just surprised by her 4th boy. :-P I did have an ultrasound at 7-ish weeks… I will go back and see if it has any info. :-)

  2. so i looked it up. there’s a 12.5%-14.9% chance of having 3 boys in a row. i thought it was interesting: http://www.in-gender.com/XYU/Odds/Gender_Odds.aspx

    • That’s good to know! Thanks for looking up the fun fact. :-) Here’s hoping that we are in the other 85%.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

