Posted by: Ingrid | June 22, 2007

Library fun

I visited my favorite La Mirada library tonight, saw old friends, and wandered through familiar shelves of books.  I was reminded of how much I love libraries, especially when I’m just browsing and not on a mission.  I love shelves full of different books, some new and some that look positively ancient.  I love exploring the titles, feeling as if I’m being beckoned to flip through the pages and find something new.

It’s not that I don’t like bookstores, I do.  But they take too much thought.  Getting a book at Borders has an entirely different feel than a jaunt through the library.  I can be ecclectic in a library, knowing full well that if I don’t like something I can take it back.  I don’t have to figure out if a book is worth getting, I can just grab what looks interesting and fun.

Which is exactly what I did.  And that’s why I ended up with a Harry Potter book, a novel about a group of friends who quilt, a memoir of  woman with MPD, a history of Pompeii, Handel’s Messiah, Fallen by Evanescence, and poetry by e.e. cummings.

I love libraries!  What a fantastic idea they are!

Responses

  1. I love your illumination of the difference between bookstores and libraries. You’re so right!


Leave a Reply

Categories

