Posted by: Ingrid | July 9, 2007

No one told me it would be this hard to be back.

No one told me that coming back would be an awkward hug, a “How was the funeral?” and a “Are you hanging in there?” before I was exiled in my cubicle.

No one told me it would be so cold and empty.

Now I sit at my desk, bewildered by paper work, feeling like I don’t know what to do. I don’t know what comes next. Most people had a long weekend celebrating and are now back at work. I’ve spent the last 10 days in a different city helping with a funeral, burying my Mom, going through countless boxes of her stuff, and realizing that life will never be the same.

I don’t know what to do with myself.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry it hurts so much. I know it’s hard to just jump back into “normal” life when nothing will ever really be the same. It’s hard to believe the sun is still shining, the flowers still blooming when everything inside feels dark and empty.

    I love you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

