Posted by: Ingrid | July 26, 2007

I think if I could go back, one of the things I would do would be to come to some sort of belief system regarding the communion of saints.  It was always in the prayers and I had no problem praying that “Light perpetual would shine upon them.”  I had no qualms about praying for a friend of my Mom’s when she died several years ago and left her kids behind.  It all seemed to fit together and make sense and now, when it matters most, it makes no sense at all.
I know so little and understand even less.  I wonder if my Mom can see us or hear us.  The whole heaven things baffles me.  Because if she’s so engrossed in worshipping God then she wouldn’t even care about what’s going on down here, right?  Any solidifying of my view on the saints or talking to them at this point seems like it would simply be a faux security blanket, and I don’t want that.  My black and white thinking tells me to expect nothing and then everything will seem a pleasant surprise.  Such a nice way to live, isn’t it?
It’s weird having a family member in heaven like that.  It leaves me oddly disconcerted at those moments when I wonder if I should asked God to say hi to my Mom or the other way around.  I mean, it’s not like you can just stop talking to someone when they die, right?  Especially after being so comfortable talking with them on earth.  Which leads me right back into the whole do saints in glory hear us and do they care?

Leave a Reply

Categories

