Posted by: Ingrid | September 17, 2007

Out of sorts

I can’t run. For a month. Last Tuesday I went running after Talbot wives. Not even a mile into it my knee was hurting badly. I stopped at a mile and haven’t run since. My sister’s boyfriend (since this is the sort of thing he’s going to school for) made an unofficial diagnosis and treatment plan, namely, don’t run for a month and take 2400 mg of ibprofen a day.

I think I’m going to go crazy. I realized (again) that running fills a very particular place in my life. Which means when I can’t go running I get a little off. Mentally, physically, emotionally, the whole enchilada. Because as much as I know that there are many forms of exercise, I have trouble believing that unless I’m putting in 20-30 running miles a week along with some walking and weights and a few visits to the elliptical. It’s enough to drive a person batty.

On Saturday I tried very hard to make the best of the situation and get outside of my comfort zone. I took a 4.5 mile walk. I swam laps for 10 minutes and treaded water for 15. I did 15 minutes of stair stepping, 45 minutes on the elliptical, and 30 minutes of weights. And none of it. NONE of it, came close to doing what a 45 minute run would have done. I feel like an addict working with poor substitutes for the one thing I can’t have.

It didn’t help any when the abrupt end to running was followed by gaining 4 pounds in 5 days when I knew for a fact that I did not have a 14,000 calorie surplus in that time frame. Only today, after doing a search on “ibprofen” and “weight gain” did I discover that large amounts can cause rapid weight gain, water retention, and swelling. Ah. Trust a guy not to think about that when making medication suggestions. 14,000 mg = 4 pounds? Coincidence? I think not. Done with excessive amounts of anti-inflammatories? Yeah, I think so.

Responses

  1. Did I hear someone say “enchilada”?


Leave a Reply

Categories

