Posted by: Ingrid | November 23, 2007

It’s been a while.  Mostly because there has been too much internal processing and thinking, things that I’d gladly sit down with a friend and talk about, but that never were able to make it from my scattered thoughts to my fingers.  Sometimes I’d rather talk than blog.

I started Thanksgiving with the Long Beach Turkey Trot 10 K.  I’ve never run that distance officially before, it was by the beach, all the money went to charity, and come on, who couldn’t benefit from running 6.2 miles on Thanksgiving Day?  I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to run it at all, that my knee pain would come back and the month+ that I spent not running would be wasted.  But I ran, and ran it in 48:13, which was fine by me, considering the fact that I was wrong about where the finish line was and thought that I was running much slower than was the case.  Unplanned mind games are nice like that.  I rediscovered that while I play well with children I run better alone.  I also rediscovered the fun of running across the finish line and feeling like you’re going to throw up.  Nothing quite like it.

There were two women standing at the end of the course when I came back to watch.  They were single handedly taking it upon themselves to be the cheering squad for everyone.  Which means single handedly is the wrong expression, since between them they had four hands.  Would that be quadruple handedly?  Whatever it might be, they never stopped clapping.  Or yelling.  They kept up a continuous chant: “Bring it on home!  Bring it on home to the mashed potatoes!  Let’s see you trot this turkey trot!  Extra stuffing for you!”  They were hilariously annoying.  The sweetest thing I saw was the Dad finishing the race who grabbed his little girl’s hand and ran with her to the finish line.  Followed immediately by his son who looked no older than 5, yelling: “Wait for me!”

This is a strange Thanksgiving.  I don’t like holidays anymore, as it means the restaurant steals my husband from me.  I haven’t seen him since 6:45 am.  I’m so used to lots of people and family and the Thanksgiving celebration being over by now and it’s not even begun yet.

I am thankful for my wonderful husband who I love being with and talking to, even when it’s hard and we don’t agree.

I am thankful for a body strong enough to run today and for a knee that could support me.

I’m thankful for the sun on my face, the glint of silver on the waves, and the laughter of children.

I’m thankful for God’s gift of growth and the potential to dream and change and become.

I’m thankful for Grey’s Anatomy, because even though it’s not a great show it’s almost like having people who’s lives I get to share and who’s drama and highs and lows I get to be a part of.

Responses

  1. Hi Ingrid,
    Seems like it’s been forever. I know you don’t like the virtual world very much–or at least, I think you said something to that effect on your facebook wall–but you are a wonderful writer, and I’m glad to have a way to know what’s going on in your life.
    God bless,
    Sarah


Leave a Reply

Categories

