Posted by: Ingrid | February 24, 2008

I had such good intentions to blog this month and then somehow the days slipped away in a flurry of planned and unplanned events.  Now I sit here at the end of the month wondering how the time got past me that quickly and thinking that I haven’t had such a good month in a very long time.  And it just gets better.  This time next week we’ll be in Michigan.  I’ve borrowed 4 sweaters and have ascertained that my running tights that I refuse to wear on their own can be comfortably paired with any of my jeans in lieu of long underwear.  They are a bit bulky I suppose, but warmth trumps vanity any day in my book.  Within reason, of course.

Tomorrow holds a week’s worth of activity in the span of twenty-four hours.  I run the Brea 8K in the morning and I pray both that it doesn’t rain from 8-9 am and also that I can run it in less than 40 minutes.  I know that I can, but that doesn’t always translate when you throw in lots of people and some uphill sections.  But it should be fun.  Then church, then lunch with friends we’ve been meaning to do lunch with for the last three months.  Then my brother arrives via Amtrak to celebrate his 17th birthday a few days early at the Switchfoot concert in the evening.  The one that lasts until 1:00 am.  And then I have all day training on our new computer system at work.  Someone start the coffee IV now, please.  I will need it.

I’ve been surprised, I suppose, that the month has been so good.  I have this fear that when things look like they’re getting better there’s really some sort of nasty twist up ahead.  I’ve gone through the month almost holding my breath, waiting for the other shoe to drop.  Waiting for the proof that things were too good to be true and I should have known better than to expect things to be okay.  I am slowly learning that isn’t the case all the time.  That sometimes things are beautiful and life opens up and you find that there is enough of you to fill the new spaces.  

And that is a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

Categories

