Posted by: Ingrid | February 24, 2008

Vanity sizing: A rant

I found two pairs of work pants today, when I visited the dressing room on a whim during a shopping expedition that had everything to do with 409 and shaving gel and nothing whatsoever to do with the ladies clothing section.  I am nearly ready to declare that a miracle, considering the fact that I hate shopping for pants and can never seem to find pairs that fit all of me.  They usually seem sized to fit three of me in three alternate universes.  It’s infuriating and frustrating and makes me loathe dressing rooms with a passion.

Today, however, I discovered something first hand during my quality time in the dressing room and that is that clothing has been growing.  I am firmly convinced that if I were to stay the same size for another ten years I would not fit into any of the sizes whatsover.  I am the same weight I was in high school and I’m pretty sure I was wearing 8’s.  Today I bought a 2 and a 4.  And I am only that size because some idiot thinks women want to see smaller numbers on their clothing.

I hate vanity sizing.  I hate the fact that trying on jeans means that I have to take every size from 2-10 into a dressing room with me because there are no guidelines for sizes and I have no idea how anything will fit.  I dislike the fact that I have no clue what size I wear and can’t just ask for the jeans that are made for women with 26″ waists and 36″ hips.  That would be so easy!  I envy my husband who has only to remember his waist and the length of his legs in order to find a pair of pants.  Seriously, if my 8 has become a 2 in ten years, what will it be in another ten?  And people wonder where size 0 comes from?  Look it up, it was probably a 6 on clothing patterns in the 1960’s.  I’m not sure what makes me more upset, the dishonesty of the whole thing or the dratted inconvenience of only being able to try on one style of pant per dressing room trip because I have to take in six different sizes.

I know that women are supposedly more complicated than men, but this vanity sizing idea is pretty ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

Categories

