Posted by: Ingrid | August 17, 2008

It’s Greek… no, English… no… Russian, to me

I’m taking Greek in the fall.  Which is one of the bright beacons in an otherwise currently cloudy semester, and is something that I am very VERY excited about, having wanted to take Greek every since I was an undergrad.  I realize that my excitement over this ends up sounding nerdy, but I seriously don’t care.  I’m thrilled.

And nervous.  It’s been a long time since I was a student and even longer since I took a language class, so I’m getting a head start, learning the alphabet, and brushing up on direct objects, definite articles, and determining if a word is singular nominative or singular accusative.  I remember, in a time long ago, being forced to diagram sentences, so in theory I ought to know this stuff.  In retrospect, that knowledge from my past really should have been mentally filed in the “save” file, as it would come in handy now.  But no, it was replaced by useful information like all of the names of the girls in the Babysitter Club books.

But today as I was doing my thirteen mile run, I discovered that my studying just might be paying off (though this might only make sense if you’re familiar with the Greek alphabet).  As I ran by an empty bottle of Popov vodka on the side of the road, I mentally pronounced it “roron vodka”.  Which means either that there just might be some hope for my learning another language or that I’ve totally screwed up my ability to read the next great American novel.

I guess we’ll wait and see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

