Posted by: Ingrid | August 31, 2008

Nervous anticipation

Tomorrow morning I wake up at 3:45 to get ready to run the Disneyland half marathon.  I am so excited and so nervous.  If I hadn’t gone shopping with a friend today (thanks, Heather!) I would have been utterly and spetacularly useless around the house.  I hate hate HATE the day before an event.  It’s all about not overthinking the next day and drinking a lot and eating well and not exercising and getting enough sleep and trying hard not to go nuts.

I’ve almost made it.  Bedtime is in less than 2 hours.

I’m excited to run, the weather should be wonderful, and my husband will be cheering me on.  I think my knee will co-operate too, which is nice.  I’ve been told to not worry about a time because it will be crowded tomorrow, but I can’t help but want to run it in 1:45-1:49.  The last 1/2 marathon was 1:55 and that was with about a half mile of walking thrown in.  I’m trying to let myself want it but not too much.

My hope is that I can get out there tomorrow morning, in the coolness of the morning, and just have a great time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

