Posted by: Ingrid | October 3, 2008

Running Miscellaneous

I am 3/72 into my marathon training program. I wasn’t sure for a while if I was going to commit, and even now, it’s not like I’m fully committed in the I’ve-shelled-out-lots-of money sort of way. No, my commitment looks more like a well thought out, four day training plan that began on Monday. Eighteen weeks is a really long time but if I only have to run 72 times during that time frame I think that’s fair. There are only 8 or 9 crazy runs, which would be anything over 14 miles, which is the point where it becomes much more about psychology than physiology.

I haven’t done a marathon in almost three years, and I’m a little afraid to even entertain the thought. With knee pain on and off it’s been hard to think or dream or plan anything when it comes to running. But I keep coming back to wanting to run another marathon, even though I can’t fathom going the distance right now. So currently, my very modest running plans include:

Fresno half marathon in early November (very tentative, 25% sure I’ll sign up)

Long Beach Turkey Trot 10K

Surf City Marathon, Super Bowl Sunday

I’m finding that I’m wanting to set time goals as well. I’m not really committed to when they happen (sometime in the next three years would be nice), but they’re still there and I want to acknowledge them.

I want to run a 6 minute mile.

A sub-20 minute 5K.

A sub-45 minute 10K.

A 1:30-1:39 minute half marathon.

A sub-4 hour marathon.

I was very pleased the other day, when I saw a woman from another department who I hadn’t seen in a while. She asked about school, asked about plans for kids, and then said, “Ohhhh, one day I’m going to see you running through the neighborhood with a cute pregnant tummy.” That made me very happy.  It sort of felt like if people see me as a woman who would run while pregnant I must have really achieved runner status!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

