Posted by: Ingrid | October 3, 2008

You’re kidding, right?

While requesting a transcript from the junior college I attended back in 1998 I discovered that I had a hold because a $2.00 transcript fee from 2003 had never been paid. Because I didn’t know about it and had never paid it, it went to collections, where it had grown to a whopping $3.25 over the past 5 years.

┬áSo I called over my lunch break today to fix the problem, and when the gentleman I was speaking to asked my for my credit card information he asked me to please read him the number from left to right. I was so stunned I blurted out, You do not seriously have people try to read you the number from right to left?!? I don’t think he knew what to do with that, and assured me that yes, he has to ask that question and maybe I just don’t place many credit card orders.

Pause.

No, actually that’s what I do for my job.

Now I’m sort of wishing, after his reading request, that I’d told him that I actually prefer to read every other number from right to left and then go back and fill in the blanks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

