Posted by: Ingrid | November 7, 2008

And sometimes you run for the t-shirt

I signed up for the Fresno half marathon 10 days out from the event. I still have this fear that my body will do something if I sign up too far in advance, but with only 10 days to go, what could happen?

Well, my ankle could start hurting for 24 hours as soon as I register, causing me to skip my long run on Saturday.

Then it could stop hurting so that my shin could hurt instead.

And then I could get the flu.

I’m back to about 86% normal now and trying to wrap my mind around a 13 mile run in 40 degree (40!!! Good Lord!!!) weather on Sunday morning. This half marathon may involve running tights and that will not be a pretty sight. Running is a mental game, and I’m trying to figure out how to break this down. Am I running a 10 miler with a 5K tagged on? A 1 mile warm up with a 5K, 10K, 5K? I know that I’m not running 13 mile repeats. I’m having a hard time wrapping my mind around this run. Partly because I’m still a little sick, partly because my training base is not where it should be, and partly because I know that I have to run this half marathon just “for fun.” I can’t push myself too hard or I’ll regret it. I can’t go for a faster time because I’d probably get hurt. Which means going slower and dealing with feeling like I’m not good enough or measuring up to the arbitrary standards in my head.

I have to treat this like a long run, which is why I signed up for it in the first place. How else was I going to get a 13 miler in when I was back in Fresno for the weekend? So I am going to go out there Sunday morning, possibly in running tights, turn on the Fresno playlist on my ipod, and run.

Maybe next event I’ll run for a PR or for fun. This time I’m running for that long-sleeved technical shirt at the end.

 

Responses

  1. How did I miss the “Ingrid had the flu” part of things? I’m so sorry…I hope I didn’t give it to you. Have fun running…runrunrunrun


Leave a Reply

Categories

