Posted by: Ingrid | November 20, 2008

Anniversary Fun!

Yesterday started out as a terrible horrible no good very bad day of epic proportions. I would go so far as to say I got out on the wrong side of the bed, but since I only ever get out on one side that wouldn’t make sense.

It didn’t help that it was our two year anniversary and everyone knows that you should not feel that way on anniversaries. So, annoyed and chagrined, I went off to work. Little did I know that Clint was at home fixing the microwave (blessed man), writing in a very funny card, and buying flowers.

img_1788

At 1:00 I got ready to go to the fitness center for my rushed workout because I hadn’t made it up early enough to run. When I left the office, there was my husband, in his workout clothes, with flowers and a rosemary wreath.

img_1791 img_1790

He then proceeded to inform me that I was done with work for the day, something that he’d cleared with my boss the week before.

After that the whole day opened up and it was just… wonderful. We went to the fitness center, where we first saw each other, and worked out, then we drove to all sorts of special spots in our relationship, and it was a fun afternoon and evening of remembering.

img_1782 img_1783

We went to the 99 Cent Store and re-enacted our first meeting, though I don’t remember it going quite like this…

img_1781

We bought gas for $2.05.

img_1777 img_1780

Yes, you read that right. It was amazing. Happy anniversary us!

We drove to Starbucks, eating cheap chocolate en route, where we got drinks and reminisced about our first date and first kiss, both at “our” Starbucks.

Then on to the first place we lived as a married couple, Moca Salsa to get warm tortillas, the Corner Bakery to hug, and then to Blessed Sacrament, where it all began two years ago. It was a delightful surprise to find Fr. David in his office, to be let into the church, and to have him offer to pray for us in the spot where we got married. I’d forgotten until I stood in the middle of the dimly lit church how much I love it and miss it. It’s one of those places that feels like coming home. That’s the best that I can put it. It’s as if, when I stand in the silence, everything falls into place and I feel like I can breathe again. We both decided that particular part of our anniversary field trip was the best part of the night.

Back home via the boba place where we went on a few dates initially, to the spot on the corner where we danced after the Christmas party. We drew the line at stopping by my old house to ask if we could use the garage.

Our last stop was Golden Spoon, home of many cheap but delicious dates, then back to watch The Office and laugh.

img_17841

img_17851

It ended up being a great day after all.  What a fantastic anniversary!

Leave a Reply

Categories

