Posted by: Ingrid | December 19, 2008

Making peace with my running tights

Today I made friends with my running tights. The tights that I bought a year ago because they were only $3.50  (you have no idea how much people will pay to wear something that silly) and I was delusional enough to think that one day I would have the legs of America’s next top model. So I bought them, took them home, and choked. I am not a tight pants person. No leggings for me. No thank you very much. So the thought of running in black tights… I couldn’t take it. They’ve lived in my sock drawer ever since.

But then it got cold this week. Monday and Wednesday I got rained out of my runs. Tuesday I got through 6 brisk miles with the cold air slipping in through my pant legs. Good motivation to go faster but bad for letting my muscles warm up. Today I knew that if I was going to hit my 25 miles (it’s a rest week after three weeks at 32 miles per week), I needed to knock out 7 miles today, 3 tomorrow, and 9 on Saturday. I also knew that it would be below 40 degrees at 5:50, at for those of us in southern California, that is freezing. I’m a weather wimp, despite my South Dakota roots, and I’m okay with that.

So I pulled on the tights. Zipped the legs closed over my socks and braved the cold.

Amazing.

Running tights are the best thing since strawberry shot blocks. Seriously. My legs have never felt that good in the cold. They stayed warm and the pressure of the tights was very comfortable while running. I never looked in a mirror and I tried not to ignore the fact that I was essentially running in a baggy shirt and leggings. Look world! Here are my legs!  Look!   But really it felt so good I didn’t even think of that.

61 minutes and 7 miles. I rounded the corner at Valley View and Rosecrans in full view of rush hour traffic and I didn’t care. The sunrise was superb, the colors unbelievably vivid, my breath frosty in the air, and my legs never felt so good.

I had two consecutive thoughts. I rock these running tights. and Thank you spandex.

Maybe it was the lack of oxygen.

Responses

  1. I stumbled across your blog this morning when I was reading about pregnancy “things” (I’m 6w 1d)…and I’ve had so much fun browsing through it and reading your story. I read in this post that you live in Southern California…my home! Which city are you in? I was born and raised in San Clemente, but married a Swede and we’ve lived in his hometown for the past 3 years. I have not for once stopped missing home 😦 Hug the ocean air for me! Assuming you’ve had your baby by now…haven’t gotten that far in the blog 😉 Congrats, though!

  2. Oh! I just noticed that you mentioned Valley View and Rosecrans…you must be near La Mirada? I went to Biola University for a little while after high school. The In N Out you mentioned in previous posts must be the one I frequented a few late nights with friends 😉 Ha! p.s. your every mention of Trader Joe’s has my mouth watering…


Leave a Reply

Categories

