Posted by: Ingrid | January 27, 2009

Various disclaimers

Disclaimer 1:

Please stop reading now if you are offended in any way by belly pictures. I figure if my formerly flat stomach is going to get completely disfigured over the course of 9 months I’m going to very thoroughly document the process.

Disclaimer 2:

You may have had the best and most glowing pregnancy ever. If you have, I’m very glad for you but that has not been my experience so far. I am very excited to be having a baby but so far I really hate pregnancy. If this offends you in any way, stop now.

Disclaimer 3:

I have a lot of years of eating disorders and body image issues behind me and pregnancy doesn’t do much for any of that. Please know that I visit my doctor regularly, am trying to be healthy, have a very involved husband, and that if I say something very emotional and irrational (I hate my body! I’m not eating for another five months!) I will not be following through on that.

And now, pardon the back posting. I want a record of everything I’ve been thinking and feeling the last several months. Mostly because at some point I imagine I’ll look at our baby and think, “Wow! He/she is so cute. We should have another one!” and I don’t want to forget the experience from the first time around.

I have to say though, now that the first trimester is over, despite all my angsty body-image issues, I feel a deep sense of excitement that this baby is still here and still growing and will be here in roughly 27 weeks.  How amazing.

Responses

  1. But that’s the whole idea! You are supposed to forget… 🙂

  2. Hi Ingrid,

    I just read through your pregnancy blogs! Firstly: Congrats!

    I ran through my pregnancy with Edmund and gained 30 lbs. It came off pretty easily once I started running again. You do need to get at least 25 in if you are planning on breastfeeding. Lack of body fat can negatively effect your milk supply and your hormones.

    From the things you have been saying, I think it would be a good idea if you got some counseling throughout your pregnancy and postpartum. I say this because even if you gain your goal of 15 lbs, your body will look different after pregnancy. I know woman who are super skinny after having babies and still have lots of loose flesh around the belly, stretch marks, or a pudge that just won’t go away. You need to be prepared for that because negative body images can contribute to sever postpartum depression which is bad for you and the baby.

    I’ll pray for you during this pregnancy. For your health (emotionally and physically) and the baby’s.


Leave a Reply

Categories

