Posted by: Ingrid | January 30, 2009

Come run with me, I’m pregnant! (And some running logistics)

I thought that with the first trimester ending and moving into what is supposed to be the more fun, more energy filled, but increasingly heavier second trimester, that I would want to drop my running days down to 4 days for most weeks. Right now I’m thinking that I’ll keep things about the same and keep aiming for long runs that are 9-13 miles long after the half marathon. Maybe 2 days at 6 miles each, a 4 miler, 3 miler, and then my long run, which would still be 29-33 miles a week. I would love to do 7 mile runs still on several of the week days, but because I take so long getting out of the house at 6:00 am and because my time has slowed down by a few minutes I can’t quite squeeze 7 miles in if I’m going to get to work on time.

I sort of thought that getting further into pregnancy would obligate me to slow way down (I’m sure that’s coming up ahead), but for now, as I start feeling better it seems a little silly to slow down before my body tells me to. I’ve run 28-32 miles every week since finding out I was pregnant. If I did that through the miserable moments of the first trimester, why would I cut down now that I feel good? I’ll probably take a week at lower mileage 25/26 miles after the half and then bump back up to 30-35 and see how it feels.

 Here is my list of events that I would like to do before I give birth. It is not set in stone and I realize that a number of things could sideline me before I get the chance to waddle a 5 or 10K on the Fourth of July (Come on now, doesn’t that sound like fun?). For any runners out there who live in the area, know that I would LOVE to have company at any of these events. Come run with the slow pregnant woman and visit all of the fine porta-potties on the course!

 

Brea 8K, February 22, 8:00 am, (16 weeks 5 days)

Knotts Berry Farm Camp Snoopy 5K and 10K, March 15, 7:30 am, (19 weeks 5 days)

La Habra 5K and 10K, March 28, 6:30 am, (21 weeks 4 days)

Fullerton 5K, April 25, 7:30 am, (25weeks 4 days)

Visalia Half Marathon, May 2, 6:30 am, (26 weeks 4 days) I know everyone is dying to run this one with me, but if I really can run a half marathon 7 months pregnant, this one is reserved for my sister who ran it with me last year.

Anaheim 5K, June 13, 8am, (32weeks 4 days)

Anaheim Hills Firecracker 5K and 10 K, July 4, (35weeks 4days)

Responses

  1. I’ve been thinking about participating in the La Habra 5K. But I’m too slow for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

