Posted by: Ingrid | January 30, 2009

Distraction made simple

The day before an event is always a little nerve wracking. You would think that wouldn’t be the case when running pregnant, since I can’t PR or even hold a normal pace (I think my pace at the Disneyland half was a 7:50 minute mile all the way through – I haven’t seen anything lower than 8:40 for weeks and weeks and that’s on the low end!), but it’s not. What if I wake up and can’t run? What if I never finish because I have to stop at every single porta-potty on the course? So tomorrow is an abnormal sort of Saturday.  Ask me how much I like that.  No exercise, 2100 calories regardless, and a stir crazy pregnant woman missing her normal Saturday morning long run. So I need a plan of distraction.

1. Sleep in. This will make sure that my morning doesn’t begin at 5:30, automatically giving me several fewer hours of needing to distract myself. Besides, I can’t remember the last time I slept past 7:00 on a Saturday morning.

2. Lay out in the sun (but not too long).

3. Purge my closet of unwearable things so as not to replicate the mornings this week where I had several unsuccessful attempts at getting dressed before finding something that showed minimal cleavage and had enough fabric at the bottom to cover my stomach. I just want to say that it’s not my stomach growing that’s causing these wardrobe malfunctions at all. Ahem.

4. Try to figure out how to scrapbook all of the photos since high school before having a baby in August.

5. Finish reading Water for Elephants and Eats, Shoots and Leaves.

6. Make oatmeal raisin cookies

7. Play the piano.

8. Call my pregnant friend in Fresno who played phone tag with me last weekend.

9. Clean the apartment. Vigorously.

10. Check, re-check, and triple check all of the things that I need for tomorrow. Revise my ipod playlist, make sure everything is recharged and ready to go.

11. Distract my husband because there’s no way he should be studying the entire Saturday.

12. Take a nap. Because I’m pregnant and I can.

13. Eat pancakes for breakfast and pizza for dinner. Mmmmm. Pizza.

Leave a Reply

Categories

