Posted by: Ingrid | February 6, 2009

We’re having…

an alien!

Yes, it’s true!  Just check out the current ultrasound picture from today.  I really hope it comes with special super powers like changing its own diapers and sleeping 9 hours every night.

img_2269 img_2268

The picture on the left is the alien face.  I rotated the picture so that the head is the top blob that you can see.  The second ultrasound picture the head is on the left and it looks a little more baby-ish.

That was the most reassuring thing to see the baby in there, moving around, with a face (a real face!), and a visible beating heart.  We still haven’t heard the heartbeat yet, but I guess that’s what we get for sweet talking the NP into doing a third ultrasound instead.  She put the gel on my stomach and Clint and I are now conditioned to think, Ultrasound!  Yes! It was nice of her to oblige.  I’m so happy that I didn’t damage the baby running on Sunday, even if the recovery afterwards seems to have taken its toll on me.  I’m back to running again, 5 miles yesterday and 7 today, but I’m thinking it’s only going to be a 21 mile week.  And that’s okay.

This doctor’s appointment was so much better than the last.  I loved the Nurse Practitioner and will see her again next time.  She was fine with my running and was sure everything was okay after the half marathon.  It was all very encouraging.  I’m only up 1.6 pounds since my 7 week appointment, but she thought that was fine too.  I’m back on Zofran, probably good since I missed her entrance because I was busy losing my breakfast in the bathroom.  Just give me drugs and maybe food will taste good again, please.  I’ve never been so ready to want to eat everything in sight.

My dear husband decided to tell her that I wanted to run another half marathon at 27 weeks.  She just looked at me, hands on hips, lips pursed, and said, “You are not running another half marathon 7 months pregnant.”  But what if I still feel good…?  She okayed 5Ks and 10Ks, so I figure, if I still love running in a totally transformed and heavier body in another 13 weeks I’ll sign up for the half marathon and run a 10K, walk 1 mile, run a 5K, walk 1 mile, and run the last 2 miles to the finish line.  I figure even if I’m running 11 minute miles by then I can still finish in about 2 and a half hours.  I’m trying not to get too attached to my running plans, but it’s hard not to.

Meanwhile, we have our very own alien!

Responses

  1. And what an adorable little alien! 🙂

    I like the mental image of the nurse at the thought of you running a half marathon 7 months pregnant! And I have to admit that I agree with her – I’m betting that you won’t really WANT to run that when you’re that far along. Having been there, you know. 🙂

  2. Hey! Congratulations on the baby! I just found your blog and I like it very much! You’ll have to stick with me from now on…I’m adding you to my blogroll :D.

    Nicole


Leave a Reply

Categories

