Posted by: Ingrid | February 17, 2009

Expensive tastebuds

I was at Costco on Friday night picking up a pizza for the following day. En route the the back of the store (funny how they make you walk past everything in the store just to get a simple pizza) I passed a 24 ounce tray of blueberries for a fairly decent price. Blueberries sounded good, I thought, so I stacked them on top the pizza and went to the check out line.

I had not driven half a mile from the store before I knew that I wanted, needed, must have blueberries RIGHT. NOW. One hand on the wheel, I managed to pop the plastic container open, furtively eating the unwashed berries as I stopped at red lights with the same hunted look I imagine I would have on my face if I’d purchased 3 Big Macs and several large orders of fries to go.

Really people, I wanted to explain to the drivers around me, I normally wash fruit before I eat it and I normally wait to drive the 4 miles home before I tear the container open.

That was all I could eat for the rest of the night. I spent the rest of the evening sitting down to do something and then simply needing to eat more blueberries. I have no idea what sort of deficiency that might signal or if this is just another pregnancy craving (a little expensive to keep up long term though).

All I know is that I started out with 24 ounces and, well, there just wasn’t much left by the end of the night.  At least I don’t crave things like caviar…

 

img_2300 img_2301_1

Leave a Reply

Categories

