Posted by: Ingrid | March 23, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 19 Weeks 5 Days – 20 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Walked 2 miles/Weights 25/Elliptical 45

Tuesday: Ran 7 miles (65 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Abs/Stretch

Wednesday: REST DAY

Thursday: Walked 2 miles/Abs/Stretch/Ran 8 miles (1:14)/Walked 0.7 miles

Friday: Elliptical 35 minutes/Walked 2 miles/Weights 30 minutes

Saturday: Ran 11 miles (1:39)/Abs/Stretch

Sunday: Weights 30 minutes/Elliptical 45 minutes

Miles Run: 26

This has been an interesting running week for me. Mostly because I kept sleeping in and missing my morning run. I was relieved to still get in decent mileage for only 3 days of running, but when my routine starts slipping I start wondering if this will be “the end” until giving birth. Fortunately, since I still really want to run, I think I will keep on, despite weeks like this one.

I have not noticed any round ligament pain or any unusual aches and pains during running or exercise. No scary symptoms at all. The only thing pregnancy seems to be affecting is my tiredness and ability to wake up in the morning. Took a rest day for the second week in a row, which is fairly unusual for me. I normally let rest days happen on days when I sleep in and can’t schedule anything later in the day and usually they happen every 3-4 weeks.

One exciting thing for me having hit the 20 week mark is the knowledge that the placenta has finished growing. It’s nice to know that there is now a fully developed system in place for delivering oxygen and nutrition to the baby. Supposedly (and you’ll have to pardon me, I can’t remember where I read this) because I’ve been working out regularly the first half of the pregnancy it’s supposed to develop a placenta that’s bigger and more efficient. I love picturing our little man just hanging out while I go running. I wonder if it puts him to sleep and what it feels like for him.

One thing I keep forgetting, both when I go out to run and when I do weight exercises that factor in my body weight is that I’m heavier. On one hand, I guess I now burn additional calories doing everything! On the other hand, I had several frustrating encounters with a particular machine at the gym until I realized that I’d forgotten to set the weights so as to account for that extra 10 pounds. I have to remember that I’m not getting weaker, just bigger.

Saturday’s long run deserves a post all of its own because it was epic. But it’s not going to get one because it’s all a part of this whole running pregnant thing and falls under this post. I remembered on Saturday that long runs can be similar to emotions with their highs and lows. I woke up at 5:30 on Saturday knowing that I had to run 10 miles, that I was supposed to be at a certain place to meet people at 6:45, and didn’t want to at all. To be honest, it probably had more to do with the greasy Hawaiian barbecue food that my husband brought home right before I went to bed.  That I had to eat.  So I woke up at 5:30 and pondered whether I should get up and run or get up and eat a couple of bowls of bacon and pork fried rice. What a choice, eh?

I got out and ran a mile, to make sure I had on the appropriate amount of layers. Then I drove down the street a ways and ran to meet my friends. I got in 3 miles running to our meeting spot and then we ran hills and took a look at the course for next weekend’s 10K (more hills!) I was so thankful to be running with people because I don’t do it often enought and it’s such a good distraction! We finished the La Habra 5K route and then we took off on an almost mile long 5% uphill grade. For anyone in the area looking for hills, go to Gilbert and Imperial and head south.  Or if you don’t know directions head up the steepest hill. Amazing. Truly amazing. First I thought my friend who had mapped the run was trying to kill us all. Then I thought about how incredible my calves would be if I ran that hill just once a week. Then I marveled at the slowness of my 12:25 pace. And then I hit the top.

What a high. What a glorious, soaring, beautiful, want to run down the hills with my hands in the air, sort of feeling it was when I crested that hill. All the little hills after that were nothing. The fact that I ended up running 11 miles instead of 10 was a joy. I even got the extra gift of finally getting to run a section on Gilbert that makes it look (aside from the road) like you’re running in the middle of nowhere. My husband has always vetoed the idea of me running there because he didn’t like how isolated it looked. This time I got the beauty, the workout, and the safety of running with people all in one package deal.

I ate the bacon and pork fried rice later. And I’m so glad that I didn’t skip my run.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for your comment on my blog! It looks like you are doing a fantastic job of keeping your fitness up during your pregnancy. You are doing more than I was at that point, so I bet you’ll be able to keep it up to the end. Right now, I get really sore if I run more than about 3 miles (I can barely walk and my whole pelvis just aches at night if I’m not careful). But I am happy with those 3 miles! Good luck to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

