Posted by: Ingrid | March 25, 2009

Pregnancy: 21 Weeks

20 weeks 0 days: Weight: 139.2 (up 2.2 pounds)/B:38.5 (same)/W:32 (up 1″)/H:36.5 (up 0.5″) T: 21.5 (same)

img_2528

img_2534

img_2530

Pregnancy must be the only time you look smaller in pictures than you do in the mirror.  Pictures are from 20 weeks 6 days.

20 Weeks 0 Days-

Well, half a pregnancy left to go. Suddenly I feel antsy and… not bored but something akin to it. Now what? I feel like we’ve hit all of these big exciting milestones but what do you do with the rest of the pregnancy aside from being tired and watching your ankles swell? Okay, I’m sure there’s more than that, but I can’t even get things ready for the baby because we don’t know where we’re moving in the summer.

20 Weeks 1 Day-

I have slept in and missed my runs two days in a row now. Hurrah for the sleep but boy do I feel horrible. Yesterday I did nothing and I don’t know when the last time is that I took a rest day two weeks in row. It feels yucky. So now I get to try running after work. I don’t have a ton of hope for that, especially if I want to get in the 8 miles I’d like. I still have hopes for 25 miles this week, even if I only run once more on Saturday.

Post 8 mile evening run: Well, I did it! I got out there, despite all odds, and ran 8 miles tonight. I noticed a couple of things. First, my perceived rate of exertion is lower at night. What feels like what would be a 10 minute mile in the morning is actually a 9 minute mile at night. I was evening running 8-something minute miles part of the time without realizing it! Offsetting that however, was the fact that I drink lots of water during the day. With that, and the general internal shift throughout the afternoon I found that I almost couldn’t make it only 5 miles before really needing to find a bathroom. The joys of pregnancy. You know it’s bad when you’re desparately running for home and think, “If they marketed Depends for pregnant runners I would totally buy them.” I also thought that since I know so many people along my running route I should just get a duplicate house key and permission to stop by and visit their bathroom if necessary. Yeah, that wouldn’t be awkward now, would it?

Having not run for 2 days I could practically feel the endorphins kick in and start pumping through my body. What a happy and wonderful feeling that is!

20 Weeks 2 Days-

Preggy headaches. No one ever told me that you could get the equivalent of a hangover sans alchohol. I find that if I go to bed after 10:00 now, I get hit with a horrible headache that lasts at least 12 hours, even if I get enough sleep. Very annoying, as it’s a separate headache trying to remember which drugs I’m allowed to take while pregnant. Not nearly as horrible as Preggy Colds though, from what I can tell.

I have yet to see a stretch mark, and I’m very curious when they will start appearing. It seems like there isn’t much that can be done to prevent them, but I’ve developed a habit of smearing lotion all over my stomach when I wake up and go to bed. I figure that even if it doesn’t do a thing for stretch marks, it feels good, smells nice, and helps me use up the 6-7 Bath and Body Works lotion bottles that I have lying around. Win, win, win situation, I think. And stretch marks… well, I guess I figure I’ve never spent weeks (or even days) romping around in a skimpy bikini so what makes me think I’m going to start now and care if I have marks from my pregnancies on my body. Meh.

Had a weird pregnancy dream last night in which I had given birth (fairly painless and only took about 15 minutes) to a baby boy who did NOT look like a newborn, with lots of blonde hair. For the rest of the dream I would be doing things with other people and remember OH NO! THERE’S A BABY I FORGOT ABOUT! I would rush to the room, take the blanket off of his head (I know, bad dream parenting form right there), he would start screaming, I would put the blanket back over his head, he would quiet down, I would leave the room. Repeat an umpteen amount of times as I hit snooze between 5:20 and 6:59.

20 Weeks 3 Days-

So maybe an 11 mile run, scrambling around getting ready, and then 7 hours spent driving to and from and helping with a wedding isn’t the best Saturday schedule for a pregnant woman. What? No nap time at 11:30 am?

Thanks to everyone who has commented, emailed, or mentioned in passing that they slept on their back while pregnant. I am perfectly content to continue unless my body alerts me that something is wrong. Thanks for the reassurance!

20 Weeks 4 Days-

I have finally arrived at a place where I think I would enjoy being told to sleep 9-10 hours every night. Unbelievable. I’m starting to feel like I’m taking on a baby’s schedule. Feed me! Put me to bed! Feed me again!

20 Weeks 5 Days-

I’ve been noticing that our little boy has been getting a lot stronger. I used to have to sit still and concentrate in order to feel him move. Now I feel him when I’m standing and he’s been rolling around all morning at work. It’s the funniest sensation and it makes me smile. I’ll probably keep smiling until he starts kicking me in the ribs at 2:00 in the morning at some later date.

20 Weeks 6 Days-

Today I feel like a pregnant blimp. I felt like that before I checked the scale and I felt like it afterwards.

Also frustrating me today is my excessive need for sleep. Napped the last 10 minutes of my lunch break yesterday. Came home, made dinner, prepped food for the crock pot for the next day, fell asleep at 7:00 pm, woke up at 9:00 pm, went to bed at 9:45, woke up at 7:00 am. I hate this. Nothing is getting done and my life is out of control.

Add the out-of-control-blimpiness to my irritability towards everyone and everything and you have a great ending for week 20. I seriously don’t know how I’m going to make it to the end working full time without losing my mind or yelling at someone. I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the next 19+ weeks in general.

Well, after remembering that a friend of mine was exhausted and anemic while pregnant, I thought it would be at least worth it to check my past blood tests that were done about half way through the first trimester and way back before my blood supply started doubling.  When looking for anemia you check hemocrit, hemoglobin, and red blood cell count (so says Kaiser’s handy little test explanation).  RBC’s were 3.87 and normal is 4.2-5.4, hemoglobin was 12.3 when 12.0-16.0 is normal, and hemocrit was 35.6 (normal is 37-47).  My guess is that those numbers may have dropped even more since 7 weeks.  Add to this the fact that I haven’t been taking a prenatal vitamin because of the side effects of iron and… well, maybe I don’t have to feel this tired after all!  It’s at least something to check on during my next appointment.  This wanting to sleep all the time is getting old!

Responses

  1. If your iron levels are low and you have trouble taking iron pills, you might want to try Floradix. It is an iron and herb mix and (for me at least) it had NO side effects like normal iron pills. It is about $36 for 180 pills, and you’re supposed to take three each day. It has been a life saver for me – I’m taking it again right now because I’m dealing with the same frustrating tiredness as you are (and although I don’t have current blood work, I’m pretty sure I recognize this as anemia!)

  2. How I wish the solution was just to eat lots of steak. Maybe Kaiser could write me a prescription for filet mignon…

  3. There are a number of simple principles of a diet for fertility and these are aimed at rebalancing the couples’ eating habits whilst including foods which, when combined with other methods, will help improve fertility.

  4. it’s a miracle getting pregnant since pregnancy is a gift from God, although some people maybe disagree with that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

