Posted by: Ingrid | March 27, 2009

Weekends have never felt so good

I’m starting to feel like I’m living for the weekend. Some days I wonder how on earth I’m going to make it through July.

But the weekend is here and I’m excited! My little sister is coming down today (which is perfect because my husband has work, class, and work again) and we have a lot on the agenda. We’re planning a low key evening tonight with the La Habra 10K tomorrow morning (baby hasn’t run a 10K since Thanksgiving!). My last event 5 months pregnant. Moving on to month 6 now… We also have ambitious plans to lay out by the pool, start a registry at Babies R’ Us (I didn’t think that sisterly love extended that far, but apparently it does), and look for a bathing suit top at the mall. That is way more daunting than it seems like it should be, but it has to be tackled before Hawaii. It is, unfortunately, the type of experience I would prefer to have after several shots of tequila. Because I can pretty much guess, since nothing fit on top before I got pregnant nothing will fit now. But hope springs eternal and I’m willing to be surprised. I am not, however, will to spend $90 on a bikini top with underwire, so we’ll see where that leaves me.

Having my sister in town will hopefully also keep me from eating the case of Mother’s cookies that we were given last night. Yes, a full CASE of cookies. Peanut butter cookies, oatmeal raisin cookies, bite sized cookies, pink and white animal cookies… Cookies beyond number and pregnancy do not go well together. Or rather, they go together far too well (and far too fast), especially with a cold glass of milk.

I’ve also been thinking more about the half marathon that I’m wanting to do and have decided that Visalia just isn’t going to work. Too much hassle with the bathroom issue, plus my Dad is out of town so the drive up there wouldn’t get to double as a family visit. I briefly considered the Palos Verdes half marathon on May 2, but then I looked at the elevation chart, found out that there were porta potties at the start, mile 3, and mile 6.5, and changed my mind. Palos Verdes is gorgeous and green and on the ocean, but I don’t think I want to tackle those hills at almost 27 weeks pregnant!

So I think I’ve settled on Sunday, May 3, the Irvine Pediatric Cancer Research half marathon. It’s close! It’s flat! There are porta potties every mile! It’s for a good cause!

As long as I can still run any sort of distance, it works for me.

Responses

  1. Hello! Stumbled upon this great blog while looking for advice for a 10k run on Sunday (I’m 11 weeks pregnant). Love what you are doing and I find you so inspiring. I look forward to following your story!


Leave a Reply

Categories

