Posted by: Ingrid | April 6, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 21 Weeks 5 Days – 22 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Walked 2 miles/Elliptical 40/Weights 30/Stretch

Tuesday: Walked 2 miles/Ran 6.5 miles (60 minutes)/Abs/Stretch

Wednesday: Walked 5 miles/Ran 2

Thursday: Walked 2 miles/Ran 6.5 miles (59 minutes)/Abs/Stretch

Friday: Walked 2 miles/Elliptical 35 minutes

Saturday: Ran 10 miles (1:35)

Sunday: Elliptical 40/Weights 20/Abs/Stretch

Miles Run: 25

Starting to notice some groin pain but I’m thinking that it’s from not stretching as much. Must make stretching a priority! It’s important any time you run, but especially with being pregnant and the extra work my body is doing. And I’m so bad at making time for it.

It was a fight to get in 25 miles this week, which worries me a little. I have 27 days until the half marathon (not signed up yet) and I’m just not sure which way I’m leaning right now. This coming week is my trial run, as I raise my mileage again. Friday will be the longest run I want to do (aside from the half marathon) before giving birth.

Last Saturday I made it up at 5:20 am, even while on retreat, drove to Newport, and ran out past the Huntington Pier. It was a beautiful morning and it was fun watching the sea gulls and waves and early morning surfers. I ran out 5 miles so of course I had to run back. I was glad I got to run at the beach, as there are drinking fountains and restrooms everywhere. I was fortunate enough to get in a 2 hour nap in the afternoon. Boy did I need that!

I seriously need to negotiate with this baby of ours. I feel like as soon as I start running he moves into handstand position; two baby hands on mommy’s bladder, one foot on each lung. Then, with the skill of a trained acrobat, he bends his little legs and then extends them. A rather perverse and unnerving image, I’ll grant you. Now I know this isn’t really happening, but for heaven’s sake, could he at least push on my spleen or pancreas for a change? I don’t think about those organs while I’m running! 

I’m interested in how this week will pan out in terms of running and the mileage I want to get in. Guess I’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

Categories

