Posted by: Ingrid | April 11, 2009

Overachieve much?

Why, yes I do, thanks, but today it was all good stuff.  And by good I don’t mean productive and the house is clean and the laundry done.  So I guess I didn’t overachieve.  Maybe I mean that I just had fun.

It started with the run that I almost psyched myself out of.  I’m glad I didn’t, because it was a magnificent grey day with not a rain drop to be found.  Pleasantly cool the entire time and my goodness do the freshly green trees stand out against a cloudy sky!  I don’t know that I would have made it as long as I did had the sun come out.  There is something very timeless about cloudy days that tricks me in to thinking that there is nothing pressing and nothing I’d rather be doing than the task at hand.

So I got out there and ran.  Not the 12 miles I’d planned on and articulated to friends that I wanted to run, but the 13.1 miles that somewhere inside I harbored a secret desire to do today.  And it was that easy.  It felt so good, so relaxing, so energizing to be outside.  The slowness didn’t bother me and there were no major aches or pains, just me getting the chance to do one of the things I love best.  I was very proud of myself!

img_2624

As a firm believer in the reward/incentive system, I’d decided that if I ran today I would finally give into my craving to eat at a Chinese Buffet.  So we did.  Honestly, the food wasn’t that good (though you can’t tell from the way I stacked my plate).  The egg flower soup was horrific, and the broccoli beef (while aesthetically pleasing) didn’t use very good meat.  The soft serve was amazing, however.  And really, if you’re going to spend $6.99 for a buffet, what do you expect?  I don’t think I would go back there.  I know that I ate way too much, I have no desire for Chinese food now, but the experience was fun!

img_2625 img_2627

My fortune from lunch read, “You’ll never know what you can do until you try.”  So maybe I should try another 13 miler tomorrow…?  Not only did we get a fortune, we got to learn a word in Chinese, and see our lucky numbers!  Ambitious cookies, those.

img_2628

Baby bump or buffet belly?  The verdict is still out.  I’m just documenting the cravings as they come and if those cravings get indulged on days when I burn 3000+ calories, I think the world will be okay.

Finally, after two months of my dear husband working extra and asking me repeatedly, “So, have you looked into getting a prenatal massage?”  I finally did it.  And I will do it again!  Weekly, if necessary!  It was truly amazing, which is not something that you expect when you find someone nearby who does prenatal massage via the expertise of Google.  Glorious.  Magnificent.  When I was done I wanted to be wrapped in a bed sheet and driven home.  I would highly recommend Sacred Hands.

img_2630

All I have to say is that I am a very happy overindulged pregnant woman tonight.  Oddly enough, despite the decadence, I really feel like I could use a nap about now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

