Posted by: Ingrid | April 22, 2009

Pregnancy: 24 Weeks (from last Wednesday)

23 weeks 0 days: Weight: 141 (up 1.8 pounds)/B:38 (same)/W:32.5 (up 0.5″)/H:36.5 (same) T: 22 (up 0.5″)

img_2687 img_2688

img_2689

24 weeks 0 days, taken in the morning.  Below is the Ala Wai canal and golf course.

 

 

 

 

 

23 Weeks 0 Days-

I guess the 140’s are here to stay, at least for a little while. I cannot believe that there was a time I thought I might not make it past 145 (How naive I was in those early days of pregnancy!). Adding that 4 to the equation definitely brings back lots of terrible college memories of body hatred and the horrible secretive binge/purge/gain weight anyway cycle that was life. I do not miss those days at all. I wasn’t missing the 140’s either, but 12 pounds up at this point is not horrendous. I’m not in college anymore and for heaven’s sake, I’m pregnant this time around! All in all, I think I’m doing just fine.

Fortunately today is also one of those “I feel adorable” days of pregnancy. I’ll take those days whenever they come!

I’m finding with Hawaii looming on the horizon I am wishing my stomach could be just a bit bigger so as to fill out my maternity bathing suit rather than the typical wish of vacationing women everywhere to be just a tad smaller for their time on the beach.

23 Weeks 1 Day-

It’s been strange to read the blogs of women who were farther along in their pregnancy, to click onto their blog and find that they have a baby! I forget sometimes that you don’t stay pregnant forever… it’s a little crazy. 

I feel like I’m holding my breath regarding the outcome of tomorrow’s long run. Plus it’s supposed to rain. I’m using the “divide and conquer” philosophy for my 12 miler. So that means I’m doing 1 mile, 4.5 miles, 4 miles, and then 3.5 miles with the last mile as a walk/cooldown. Totally do-able when you divide it like that. At least I hope it is… I feel excited and nervous and a little silly for feeling like so much hangs on the outcome.

Despite all of the lotioning I seem to have developed a very itchy stomach. Not fun! And definitely not itchable in public!

23 Weeks 2 Days-

After running for 2 hours this morning Baby did not do too much moving for the rest of the day. Of course that worried me. I would like to think however, that being in the womb during a long run feels like those occasional naps that you get that you can’t wake up out of, no matter how hard you try. Those warm afternoons when you drift in and out of sleep thinking Must. Wake. Up. And try as you might, you can’t. I’m glad that one of us was taking it easy!

23 Weeks 3 Days-

I got 10 hours of sleep. 10! And it felt wonderful. It was so nice to rest and get things done around the house and actually sit still long enough to read and feel our little boy moving around. Three day weekends are great!

23 Weeks 4 Days-

Definitely felt pregnant, heavy, and tired on today’s run. Trying to ignore the fact that thinking about feeling that way leaves me very depressed and wondering if it’s all downhill from here. I don’t think it has to continue though. I certainly don’t think that things need to be horrible for my last 3.5 months. I’ve missed a lot of the normal pregnancy discomforts up until this point and I don’t want to imagine that they’re all going to hit now. I need to pull myself together and move on.

23 Weeks 5 Days-

Baby is moving around a lot today, which is sort of nice since he seemed to take a mostly extended nap throughout the weekend. Coming off of the Easter weekend I am less than impressed with my eating and know that I certainly have not eaten what it would take to give me the number I saw on the scale today. I feel very big and very heavy. Even if my weight gain is “appropriate” it is definitely more than I would like at this point. Not exactly ideal as I get ready to go on vacation. I still can’t figure out if I’m eating way too much for my body and exercise or if my body simply hates me and will gain weight no matter what I give it.

23 Weeks 6 Days-

Off to Hawaii with the little one! At twenty four weeks (tomorrow) our little man is 1.25-1.75 pounds, about 11 inches long, and his taste buds, lungs, and brain are developing.

 

 

Responses

  1. Ingrid-
    You look amazing! What a blessing to be so fit with your first pregnancy it will make all the difference with future ones! I am 10 weeks behind you and even with triathlon training fourth child is not being quite so gentle on my body as your little boy is on yours…I think I shall blame the twins and this being our fourth…but if I’m honest it’s probably more due to the fact that I was so unfit for my first pregnancies. Good work!

    A


Leave a Reply

Categories

