Posted by: Ingrid | April 24, 2009

Hiking Waimea Valley

If you’re ever on Oahu, it’s worth a visit to Waimea Falls.  Had we not met up with friends I would have missed it because normally I wouldn’t consider a 2 mile round trip hike on paved road legitimate exercise and I don’t like having to pay to go hiking.  I’m glad we didn’t miss it though!

Meet our friend the peacock.  He did a great job showing off his plumage.  Very impressive!

img_2763

This is the sort of lush greenery that we were surrounded by on the hike.  It was amazing.  So were the bugs, it turns out.

img_2781

I’ve discovered that in a lot of pictures my hands are on my stomach.  Not so much because it’s a comfortable resting place but because I want people to know I’m pregnant.

img_2789

The main trail had little trailettes (?) branching off of it.  While the two families walked with their 2 and 3 year old, Clint and I took the detours.

img_2796

I thought the mother chicken and babies were pretty adorable.  It’s a good thing chickens grow up and look less cute.  I might be inclined to consider giving up chicken if they didn’t.

img_2798

I decided to go green that day, along with the rest of the landscape.

img_2809

img_2815

Aren’t the trees amazing! 

img_2823

Almost to the waterfall.

img_2825

Leave a Reply

Categories

