Posted by: Ingrid | May 5, 2009

I have a sling!

Way back at the end of the first trimester when I was feeling not so great and also not very pregnant I thought that it would be a great idea to sew something for the baby.  Actually, my first thought was I should sew a quilt!  Fortunately there was enough of a time lapse for reality to sink in.  Reality being that I hadn’t touched a sewing machine since I was about 15 years old and that really, I don’t even like sewing very much. 

My friend Emily over at Laundry and Lullabies, offered to help me make a sling.  There was hardly any sewing involved and I still didn’t do it all!  Making a sling is harder than it looks.  Fortunately wearing it seems to be a bit easier.

img_3259

Very simple sling ingredients.

img_3260

Yes, I chose black.  Because I wanted it to work for a boy or a girl and I figure black is classic and will match almost everything I own.  And if you’re going to wear your baby, matching isn’t a bad idea.

img_3262

Here is the finished product.  A durable, very sturdy sling.  And yes, helping me with the modeling is Teddy Bear.  Mostly because I couldn’t find an available happy baby when I needed one.

img_3267

I am quite happy with functional (as opposed to beautiful).  I am also delighted to not have a large sewing project looming over my head (though I’m glad that other people love sewing so much!).  For beautiful hand made baby items, check out Emily’s etsy site, Lullabyslings

I’m so glad that I didn’t commit to a quilt!

Responses

  1. Very, very wise. I started a baby quilt in 2003 that I have yet to finish. Oh the shame when people ask ‘Now that you’re pregnant, how’s your baby quilt coming along?’. Turns out I don’t like sewing much either. Oh well, I can buy a baby quilt.
    Love the sling! looks very functional and stylish.


Leave a Reply

Categories

