Posted by: Ingrid | May 19, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 27 Weeks 5 Days – 28 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Ran 6 miles (59 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Stretch

Tuesday: Walked 1 mile/Abs/Stretch/Elliptical 50/Bike 20/Weights 30

Wednesday: Ran 7 miles (1:09)/Stretch

Thursday: Walked 1 mile/Weights 25/Elliptical 25

Friday: Ran 10 miles (1:36 minutes)/Abs/Stretch

Saturday: Ran 4 miles (37 minutes)

Sunday: Off

Miles Run: 27 miles

Champion’s good, but they aren’t that good. I’ve found the last few weeks that doubling up the sports bras is essential when running at this point. There’s nothing like a double chest wrap and a growing baby to make you want to give up breathing for good.

I’ve heard this from other pregnant runners, but I’m finding it true for me as well. I just have to start out slow. Sometimes I’ll start running, looking at my GPS and wonder if I can call what I’m doing running. I usually speed up, I just need to be nice to my body at 6:00 am and let it gradually warm up. I’ve never had to do that before.

I’ve also noticed that I sometimes get a pain in my side, but only on the right. It feels like a side cramp, the kind that you have to breathe through to make it go away. The weird thing is that breathing like that makes the cramp worse. Usually I’ll stop and massage my side and that makes it manageable. I think it’s weird that it’s always the same place and doesn’t seem to be predictable at all.

I’d hoped to do 30 miles this week and came close, but the week was crazy, we were out of town, and I slept in on Tuesday, thereby derailing my plans. Maybe next week!

Responses

  1. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for a while –I’m a few weeks behind you (I’ll be 25 weeks on Thursday) and it’s inspirational to have someone just ahead so that I know what’s coming. I’ve been getting that cramp too. Not running — I’ve got marginal placenta previa and got benched, at least until week 28, but I’m biking and I get a cramp sometimes. And it’s weird, because I’ve never gotten a side stitch while biking before.


Leave a Reply

Categories

