Posted by: Ingrid | May 20, 2009

Pregnancy: 29 Weeks

IMG_3355

IMG_3361

IMG_3356

IMG_3357

Pictures from 28 Weeks 6 Days

28 weeks 0 days: Weight: 145.2 (up 0.4 lbs)/B:39 (up 0.5″)/W:34 (up 0.5″)/H:37 (same) T: 22 (same)

I’m starting to wonder if my turquoise camisole is going to last another 11 weeks. I’m placing bets as to which rapidly expanding area is going to outgrow the shirt first.

28 Weeks 0 Days-

My body is apparently not going to listen to me when I tell it to put the inches around my waist and leave other bits of me alone.

I learned yesterday, after the scary foot cramp ordeal that foot and leg cramps can sometimes hit during the night when you’re in your third trimester. They don’t really know what causes them, but it’s okay to go exercise. So I will remember that next time I wake up at 5:30 and wonder how I managed to break my foot over night. I will simply ignore the pain and go for a run. Good to know.

28 Weeks 1 Day-

Bending over is not one of my favorite activities these days. Not that it ever made it up there in the top 10 (or even top 50) things I love to do, but I think there was a time I didn’t have to think about it. A time when I would just bend over rather than wondering if the dropped object was really necessary to retrieve and if so, if perhaps my feet should do the job.

I went to a lunch at which the entertainment was comprised of some very talented high school kids singing songs from The Sound of Music. And I almost lost it in the middle of Climb Every Mountain and started crying. And pregnancy hormones abound.

Dear Isaac,

Today you are 29 weeks old. Well, technically you’re 27, but this pregnancy is 29 weeks old and who am I to quibble over a few weeks? Supposedly you are close to 17 inches and might be around 3 pounds. I’m glad that you’re the one who’s supposed to double his weight over the next 11 weeks and not me. Let’s keep it that way, shall we?

I have to admit, I have never been this excited about fat. Baby fat, that is, which is what you’re starting to develop and which I’m sure is very cute on you. It was alarming to find out that you could actually be as long as 17 inches, mostly because I remember American Girl dolls standing at 18 inches tall and the thought of someone that big inside of me is a bit… daunting if you will. It does make me understand, however, why this week you’ve begun poking around near my ribs whenever I slouch and my posture is less than perfect. I have to admit, your internal prodding is much more effective than my mom’s external nagging ever was when it comes to sitting up straight. I sympathize with the fact that there’s just not a whole lot of room left in there. You should understand though, that I’m accustomed to actually having organs in the abdominal space that you seem to have commandeered. Say hello to my liver, pancreas, and spleen, would you? And try to be nice to them, eh?

Thanks to you, I have visited every women’s restroom between Long Beach Airport and Michigan. Maybe you think that’s funny, but it gets a little embarrassing when your 4 hours on a plane consists of drinking a sip of water and then immediately having to squeeze out into the aisle and visit the lavatory. Not that I’ll hold it against you. Much. I’m sure I’ll get back at you some day and I’ll tell you now it’s all because you spent too much time squishing my bladder.

I am keenly aware these days, when you squirm around, just how solid you are. I still can’t figure out which part of you is which though. A little odd when I’m wondering if my hand is on a baby head or baby butt. I’m amazed at your coordination when you kick or punch both sides of me at once. Very impressive. My biggest fear right now is that after calling you Isaac all this time you’re going to turn out to be a girl. That would be funny but I’d rather stick to what we know. I don’t know of any variations of Isaac for a girl.

Right now this whole pregnancy feels like it’s moving pretty fast, which I like. We can’t wait to meet you!

Love,

Mom

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

