Posted by: Ingrid | May 28, 2009

Pregnancy: Week 30

29 weeks 0 days: Weight: 145.6 (up 0.4 lbs)/B:39 (same)/W:34.5 (up 0.5″)/H:37 (same) T: 22 (same)

IMG_3413

IMG_3420

IMG_3423

Pictures from 30 weeks 0 days.

29 Weeks 0 Days-

I’ve been tracking my protein intake for the month of May (supposedly getting a higher amount of protein is good for lots of things in pregnancy – none of which I remember at the moment which leads me to think that heightened memory capabilities are not one of the benefits). While it was difficult at first (I’d much rather snack on cereal or bread or something carb-y rather than one of those high protein foods) I’ve found that it’s actually quite easy to get 100-130 grams of protein with not too much additional thought. It’s been interesting to me to see that when I eat a higher protein lower GI (not too low – for heaven’s sake – I run and am pregnant!) diet I feel better and my weight stays more consistent. I don’t know if this is a pregnancy thing or a should-apply-this-in-normal-life thing. I don’t necessarily like it, but I like how much better it makes me feel.

We had our first hospital tour in the evening which went as well as a hospital tour can possibly go. I think a lot of the women there were in the last month or so… they looked big and uncomfortable and ready to be done. I must have missed the memo to not do the tour until you were almost ready to give birth. I found it funny that on the clearly marked Labor and Delivery admission form you had to list your name and then specify your gender. Um. They must get some exciting cases over in Irvine if they have to ask that.

29 Weeks 1 Day-

10 weeks and 6 days to go sounds really really close. I think it’s the 10.

Currently I think it would be hilarious, if I needed to walk around before going to the hospital, (I’d like to wait as long as possible) to pop into Babies R’ Us and wander the floor having contractions and freaking out all the other parent’s-to-be. Now I would never actually do that but isn’t it funny to think about?

I’m used to sometimes feeling what appear to be elbows or knees, but I just felt for the first time the feeling of one of those being shifted around under my hand. How excitingly weird. Hurray! He’s bendable!

29 Weeks 2 Days-

Isaac needs a compass. He must have missed the memo telling him to go North and South and not East and West. I’m sorry, but I just don’t stretch that way. Crazy kid.

I’m finding graduation week and all the other stuff that’s been going on around it are not the best thing at 29.5 weeks pregnant. I am so tired. And yet I still wake up at 5:30 and can’t go back to sleep. Isaac, on the other hand, seems to be wide awake ALL THE TIME. I really hope this isn’t indicative of his napping schedule after birth.

Tonight I learned, when we went out to dinner after graduation, that you should never ever set a basket of bottomless fries in front of a pregnant woman. Especially when it’s 9:00 pm and she hasn’t had dinner.

29 Weeks 3 Days-

This kid likes sticking his foot (hand? elbow? knee?) under my ribs. Only on the right side, of course. Down boy! I feel like every time I sit for any period of time he starts up again. I push whatever part it is down. He hooks it under my rib again. I push it down… Isaac, this is not funny!

29 Weeks 4 Days-

I’m hoping that the tiredness that I feel is caused by the craziness of the last week. I’m guessing it is. Just looking back on everything we’ve done and all the late nights makes me hopeful that I’m not just entering a nasty tired stage of pregnancy. One in which I look puffy and feel huge and my ankles swell and my back hurts. Whatever stage that is I want to skip.

29 Weeks 5 Days-

I think I’m supposed to be counting kicks and recording it on a card… somewhere. Maybe my doctor can remind me about that tomorrow, since I seem to have forgotten what I’m supposed to be doing and where the card is. I forget things a lot more frequently now which is a little funny and a little disconcerting.

29 Weeks 6 Days

Well, I’ve officially decided that I will be 7 months on June 1, 8 months on July 1, and then spend forever in the 9th month. I’m sure it’s going to feel like forever anyway, though maybe not, if there’s enough other stuff going on. I have also decided, since we have to move somewhere, eventually, that I’m going to start packing books in boxes in lieu of nesting. Not quite the same thing as painting a nursery, but at least it’s something, right?

Dear Isaac,

No really big numbers this week. Supposedly you’re still about 17 inches and a little over 3 pounds. You’ve done a lot of growing lengthwise in the past 6 weeks, so I think it’s time to work on putting on a few more pounds, okay? Except that I’m not sure where we’re going to put you once you double your size. One of my weekly updates informed me today that at 30 weeks my belly is supposed to be the size of a watermelon and that, while I may feel like there’s no room for you to grow (ain’t that the truth), my body will compensate by allowing my uterus to grow underneath my ribs. Hurray! Aren’t I in for a treat.

I’ve been a little alarmed that parts of you that I think should be in one spot keep shifting around. I guess you still have a little room to move in there, so that’s normal. One thing I can’t get used to, however, is the way you squirm to one side or the other, throwing my stomach off balance. Frankly, it’s a little weird to see and makes me wonder if you’re not an alien after all.

So far all of the crazy hormones that come with being your mom have not caused my feet to permanently grow. Granted, I’m not really a shoe person, so if I really had to replace my shoe wardrobe I think the world might be a better place. I believe that the last time I doctored my black work shoes I used staples to hold the sole on. So if you want my feet to grow, have at it, and maybe it will finally force me to shop.

I can’t believe that I still have at least 70 days to go before I meet you. I think it might be time for another paper chain. You know, you’re really welcome to come any time after you hit 37 weeks, right? I don’t think I can emphasize that enough, especially not with the turn our future seems to be taking.

Be safe but come early. Please?

Love,

Mom

 
 

 

 

Responses

  1. Hey, love following your journey, you look great; man, 70 days sounds like a long time doesn’t it? I think weeks sounds more bearable…


Leave a Reply

Categories

