Posted by: Ingrid | June 8, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 30 Weeks 5 Days – 31 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Ran 6 miles(59 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Stretch/Abs/Weights 30 minutes

Tuesday: Ran 4 miles (38 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Stretch

Wednesday: Ran 4 miles (38 minutes)/Abs/Stretch/Walk 4 miles (car battery died)/

Thursday: Ran 6 miles (59 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Stretch

Friday: Walked 2 miles/Stretch/Abs/Elliptical 25/Weights 35

Saturday: Ran Long Beach 10K (54 minutes)/Stretch/Abs

Sunday: Walked 4 miles

Miles Run: 26.2 miles

Several websites I’ve been reading suggest that at this point I might feel awkward and clumsy while exercising. I find the reverse to be true. I feel more clumsy when I’m normally going throughout my day than when I exercise and run in particular. Momentum seems to cover over a multitude of clumsiness, at least for me. When I run I finally get to feel normal.

I really don’t think I want to run 4 days in a row while I’m pregnant for the next 9 weeks. Mentally and physically it was just a little much. Got my 20 miles in, but I don’t plan on doing that sort of schedule anytime soon.

On my 4 mile walk I had to stop at least 15 times to massage the cramp I kept getting in 3 different areas.  I have to admit, I was extremely frustrated by the end.  I was only walking!  That was very discouraging and annoying.  Why is it that I feel more awkward when I walk than when I run?  I feel pregnant when I walk and feel like my body is all over the place. 

I think that next week I’m going to try to do more cross training and less running. I’m thinking of dropping my mileage to 20-24 or so miles next week. I need a break!

Leave a Reply

Categories

