Posted by: Ingrid | June 11, 2009

L&D Playlist (or Saturday’s distraction)

The combination of music and running has been sort of cathartic for me over the last decade (Wow. Using the word decade makes me feel old.). Many times running and listening to something could help me feel or recognize things that I couldn’t otherwise get in touch with. As I was becoming all too familiar with the feeling of discouragement during the run on Saturday, I decided to distract myself by trying to think of songs on my ipod that sound like they’d apply to childbirth but don’t.

I also began to wonder if maybe music would help when I’m in labor. Except I’m not thinking Enya and peaceful elevator music here. I can just imagine the nurse checking on me, eyes closed, hunched over a birthing ball. What is she listening to? That would be Linkin Park with a side of Three Days Grace played very very LOUD.

A Day Late – Anberlin (For those anxious first time moms who thought the baby would appear on his due date. Ha!)

It’s Not My Time – Three Doors Down (What you can’t really convince yourself of when nothing seems to be happening a week and a half after your due date.)

The Long Way Around – Dixie Chicks (The best way to get to the hospital when you go into labor during rush hour.)

Over and Over – Three Days Grace (For those fun contractions that seem to be on repeat.)

Numb – Linkin Park (In honor of those who chose to go the way of the epidural.)

Easier to Run – Linkin Park (For that point when you realize that you should have opted to train for the 100 mile run rather than getting pregnant.)

How Far We’ve Come – Matchbox 20 (Are you dialated? Effaced? What station is the baby at? Time to check!)

We’re So Starving – Panic at the Disco (The feeling of despair when, after 19 hours of labor, they offer you ice chips. Ice chips?!?)

Time and Confusion – Anberlin (When it all starts to blur…)

Incomplete – Alanis Morrisette (What you don’t want to be told after all that work.)

(The Only Way) Out is Through Alanis Morrisette (Ain’t that the truth.)

Responses

  1. Life is Beautiful by Sixx AM (probably about 24hrs after giving birth when parts of you are already forgetting the pain because bub is in your arms sleeping).

    I like that heavy music idea – guess I’ll be carting my iPod to the hospital when I finally have kids.

  2. I love this. Great pregnancy humor!

  3. Humor, Em? I’m being serious here. In fact, I think it will be your job to smuggle a cd player into the delivery room and then try to explain to the nurses that we’re not having a dance party in there… ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I listened to very loud Ska music while I delivered. It really did help… and it put the nurses in a good mood! ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

