Posted by: Ingrid | June 23, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 32 Weeks 5 Days – 33 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Ran 6 miles (59 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Weights 30 minutes/Stretch

Tuesday: Ran 4.5 miles (43 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Abs/Stretch

Wednesday: Walked 2 miles/Elliptical 30 minutes/Weights 25 minutes

Thursday: Ran 6.5 miles (63 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Stretch

Friday: Walked 2 miles/Abs/Stretch

Saturday: Ran 8 miles (1:17 minutes)/Walked 1.3 miles

Sunday: Ran 5.5 miles (49 minutes)/Walked 0.8 miles

Miles Run: 30.5 (!)

I’ve noticed that when I get side cramps while running it works better to sort of poke Isaac back into place rather than trying to put my whole hand against my side. Once I do that all is lost and I definitely have to stop for a minute. Either way I’m sure I look silly. At this point, the thought of squishing a 5 pound human being back into place keeps me laughing even when I have to stop and reposition. Poor Isaac! I keep picturing him, head down and legs crossed like you see in so many pregnancy books with me poking unrecognizable parts of him from the outside. Maybe we should start the therapy fund now.

Thursday’s run was a toss up. It used to be that I would choose a run over sleep any day, but pregnancy sort of changed that. I had to debate with myself, through several rounds of hitting the snooze button, whether or not it was better to sleep an extra hour, still be sleep deprived, and try to fit in exercise some other time or be sleep deprived and go for a run. I think I chose well this time, as long as it doesn’t happen too frequently.

I was wrong on two counts when it came to running during this pregnancy. First I was pretty sure I’d have grown out of my small Champion running capris. Instead, they have obligingly stretched along with my body. Second, I thought that I would be running about 15 miles per week at this point and I came in at just over 30 miles this week! That totally surprised me in the best sort of way. Next week (since we have to move out of our apartment and we’re out of town for the weekend) I’m going for a very low mileage week… 20-24 tops. The next weekend is the 4th of July and I haven’t decided if I want to do the 5K or 10K. I know that they last 10K was horrible, but a 5K…? I don’t know that I can bring myself to do that instead.

We were in the Bay Area for the weekend, and running was so much fun! Both runs took place mostly on the Iron Horse trail and were just lovely. My grandparent’s neighborhood is very hilly, but fortunately the trail is 1.6 miles away and 1 mile of that is downhill. I have to say that I have avoided running hills during my pregnancy but I love walking them! It was a paradigmatic Northern California weekend and I loved every bit of being outside and running. The brown hills, blue sky, Oaks and other trees lining the way… I don’t envision Fresno being quite as picturesque next weekend, but I’m sure it will be prettier (and less smoggy) than Southern California.

Leave a Reply

Categories

