Posted by: Ingrid | June 24, 2009

Pregnancy: 34 Weeks

33 weeks 0 days: Weight: 149.6 (up 1 lb)/B:38.5 (same)/W:35 (same)/H:37.5 (same) T: 22 (down 0.25″)

IMG_3622_1

IMG_3625_1

IMG_3628_1

33 Weeks 0 Days-

I thought that Isaac was supposed to master swallowing a while ago, but apparently he’s a little slow in that area. Constant hiccups are the result. And let me tell you, even though he’s only in the 4-5 pound range, baby hiccups feel a lot different now than they did 13 weeks ago.

33 Weeks 1 Day-

Last night Isaac attended his first live musical. I saw (he listened to) The Sound of Music and for 3 hours he did not stop moving! It’s hard to tell though, without facial expressions, if he was enjoying wiggling to the music or if he was trying to say, Mom, are you serious? You want me to sit through 3 hours of WHAT? Considering he is the product of my husband and me, it could really go either way. Maybe next time we’ll try opera.

My dear husband has taken to offering to help me put on and tie my shoes. Do I really look that pathetic and awkward?

33 Weeks 2 Days-

Off to the Bay Area today to see family! I need a distraction from our apartment which is utter chaos because of getting ready to move and the slight discomfort that comes with being bigger, warmer, and just a bit more tired. Last flight of the pregnancy!

Isaac has gotten so much stronger. He can keep me awake at night now with all his moving around and sometimes, when I’m on my side, it actually hurts when he moves. I’m sure I will miss feeling him move once he’s born, but there are times right now when I don’t feel like I’ll miss it at all!

33 Weeks 3 Days-

Last night marked the second bout of emotional incontinence of this pregnancy. Talk about weird. I hit that laughing-at-everything-way-too-tired stage and suddenly, absolutely unprovoked (other than Clint trying to shoot me with a rubber band) I couldn’t stop laughing and didn’t know why and then promptly began crying (as in full on sobbing with rivulets of mascara running down my cheeks) also for no reason. Bizarre.

33 Weeks 4 Days-

They say to avoid hot tubs while pregnant which is a little sad. Until I discovered the best thing ever… my grandpa’s hot tub that was heated to 85 degrees by the sun. When the jets and heat were turned on it got up to just over 90 degrees. A warm tub with built in bubble massage is amazing. I’ve decided that I don’t want to exercise in water – I want to relax in it!

33 Weeks 5 Days-

I have to say that I am very thankful for strong legs. When I think about the fact that I’m running as much as I am with an extra 20 pounds on me… wow… my legs are working hard! I’m glad that they can do the job!

Today was the first time I began to worry about Isaac’s arrival. I was out walking and was suddenly overwhelmed by the thought that he’s so taken care of right now. He’s comfortable, sleeps when he needs to, gets all his nutrients and oxygen through this amazing organ my body has created simply for this one pregnancy, and he’s protected, warm, and pretty safe. The thought of him actually being here, out in the open, and being so tiny and helpless and fragile is scary.

Had my 34 week doctor’s appointment. My doctor was not impressed by my wanting to go to Disneyland and ride Space Mountain and Indiana Jones. I feel like I get so few comprehensive and well reasoned answers from her that it’s hard to take her seriously.

33 Weeks 6 Days-

Par for the course, I went away for the weekend, ate a ton of food, and ended up weighing slightly less than when we left for vacation. I’m beginning to think that either my body is happier and less stressed on vacation or I need to eat carrot cake and large meals every day.

I have had to cancel and reschedule (for the 3rd or 4th time) my “Breastfeeding for Success” class, this time because of having to pack, move, pick up pizza, and pack some more. I’m beginning to get a little worried that I’m going to have the baby and then not know what to do! It’s not like you can go pick up pizza for a newborn and I hear that nursing isn’t as second nature as people would have you think.

And on the subject of pizza, I discovered that going to Costco 8 months pregnant stirs up some weird cravings as I waited for the pizza I ordered to cook. Because blueberries sounded good. And I needed a rotisserie chicken so that I could get protein fast over the next couple of crazy days. And edamame. Of course I needed edamame. Top that off with two enormous pizzas and I’m set!

Dear Isaac,

This week you could possibly be in the 19-20 inch range and weigh about 5 to 5.5 pounds. In prosaic terms you weigh about as much as a sack of flour. Way to make it past all the cute fruit and veggie comparisons that the websites used to give me. Though when they said, a few weeks ago, that you were the size of a large rutabaga I have to admit to thinking, People actually buy those? Who wants their baby compared to a root vegetable? Anyway, you are growing and I’m glad. You are not following the whole bit about not moving much though. That’s all you seem to do and there just isn’t much room now that my uterus is holding 500-1000 times the volume that it normally holds. That’s pretty incredible! This is also why one of the websites encourages me by telling me that ” it’s safe to say you’re feeling huge and slow”. Thanks, pregnancy website! That’s what I wanted to hear today!

According to my last doctor’s visit you are still head down but I still can’t figure out which parts of you are knees, feet, and bottom even though you wiggle them all around a lot! Your little fingernails are growing along with your lungs, baby fat, and central nervous system. You’re also hooking together the billions of neurons and synapses that have developed in your brain, supposedly while sleeping a lot. Did you miss the SLEEPING A LOT part of the memo? Because your not sleeping is keeping me from sleeping and I thought that wasn’t supposed to kick in until after you showed up.

Anyhow, I’m being told that I should pack my hospital bags and install the carseat but we’re in the process of moving and Isaac, I wish I could trade places with you because moving with you kicking around in there makes me SO tired. It doesn’t help that last night, after so much had been moved I couldn’t find anything and I was wandering around the house about to cry because I knew there was ONE clean pair of socks for work and I couldn’t find it anywhere. So that’s what I’m doing in lieu of installing your carseat. Please stay put for a while. July 30th is the absolute earliest that I want to deal with labor and delivery. Mommy seriously needs a break. Despite all that, your Dad and I are getting really excited to meet you and we wonder all the time what you’re like. Keep developing those lungs and growing, kiddo, and please sleep.

Love,

Mom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. You probably don’t feel like this, but you’re looking tiny! (in a good healthy way). You can definitely tell you have taken very good care of yourself!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

