Posted by: Ingrid | June 29, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 33 Weeks 5 Days – 34 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Walked 4.5 miles/Abs/Stretch

Tuesday: Ran 5 miles (49 minutes)/Walked 2 miles/Stretch

Wednesday: Got to bed at 2:00 am. Moving. Cleaning. Day off.

Thursday: Ran 5.5 miles (56 minutes)/Walked 1 mile

Friday: Walked 1 mile/off day

Saturday: Ran 9.5 miles (1:34 minutes)/Walked 0.8 miles

Sunday: Off day. Again.

Miles Run: 20 miles

I take it all back. What with moving this week I’ll be happy to run 3 days and get in 20 miles! I’m finding that it’s hard to gage my exertion levels when moving. My mentality has always been to just push through the move until it’s over and done and you collapse in a heap on the floor (which doesn’t matter because it’s done, right?). It’s just different being pregnant. If I forget to eat or drink or lift too much I get the fun of Braxton Hick’s contractions and realize after the fact that I’ve done too much. Moving is definitely an ab/leg/arm workout though!

I’m trying to keep in mind that this week has looked so different partly because of moving and working full time, partly because I feel like I’m getting sick, and partly because of traveling on two consecutive weekends. It’s hard to stick with a normal exercise routine when all of that is thrown into the equation. I don’t like that, but I can deal with a week of slowing down. Provided I can pick it all back up next week.

Running is Fresno is completely different than running in southern California. You think I would know this but somehow I forgot. I got out there on Saturday morning, the sun already out and beating down at 6:20 ( I know… it’s just wrong.). I started out running the familiar Fresno State agriculture route that I traversed so many times the week we were there at the beginning of June for my mom’s surgery two years ago and where I ran again, a month later, when we were there for her funeral. The running in summer experience is a heck of a lot hotter when you’re 20 pounds heavier, let me tell you. It didn’t help that my ipod, my dear ipod, decided to happily play in my bag while we were traveling, leaving me with enough music for 3.5 miles. And then it was dead. This is a sad happening when you are tired, hot, pregnant, in need of musical distraction, and still have 6 miles to go. It actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and I did the full 9.5 miles. In retrospect though, I should have taken water with me on the first 6 mile loop. I was running at a 9:30 pace then and ended up getting a bit dehydrated. The last 2.5 I was plodding at 10:30-11 minutes per mile, simply because I hadn’t anticipated the heat zapping every ounce of moisture from my body. Live and learn, I guess. And think more about climate when running. The sprinklers were fun though, at the end. God bless sprinklers!

I got in my 20 miles. Barely. I also had 3 off days this week, which has really thrown me… well, off, for a better word. Cognitively I recognize that it’s been a crazy week with travel, moving, poor sleep, and coming down with a cold. Despite that, and despite the fact that my weight has stayed the same for the past 2 weeks, only exercising for 4 days makes me feel like I must have gained 20 pounds in a week. Not true, but weird to feel like it’s true.

This week I hope to get my mileage back into the mid to upper 20’s and do weights again. My arms missed the workout! I also have either a 5K or 10K on the 4th of July. I have until tomorrow to commit to one or the other. I remember that the midpoint of the 10K is at the top of a long hill, but I don’t know that I can deal with only running a 5K when it will take 20 minutes to drive to the run… Such tough decisions. I suppose I can always commit to the 10K and then run the 5K if I get exhausted. Is anyone really going to tell the pregnant lady that she can’t do that?  Yeah, I didn’t think so.

Responses

  1. You are doing great! It’s hard to imagine right now when you feel so pregnant, but you will bounce back so fast you won’t believe it. All that working out will pay off! I just have to share to results with you – all the running, coupled with a belly binder worn 24 hours a day, and I am back in a bikini after 14 days. You will be too!

    http://runningpregnant.blogspot.com/2009/06/day-14-recovery-belly-wraps-work.html

  2. Lisa… that’s amazing! And that’s with a C section too. I have to admit, as amazed and impressed as I am with what my body can do while pregnant I’m definitely looking forward to being a little more normal. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

