Posted by: Ingrid | July 6, 2009

Pregnancy Exercise and Running Log: 34 Weeks 5 Days – 35 Weeks 4 Days

Monday: Ran 6 miles (59 minutes)/Walked 1 mile

Tuesday: Ran 4.5 miles (43 minutes)/Walked 1 mile/Abs/Stretch

Wednesday: Ran 6.1 miles (59 minutes)/Walked 1 mile/Weights 30/Bike 15/Stretch

Thursday: Elliptical 40 minutes/Walked 1 mile/Abs/Stretch

Friday: Ran 3.2 miles (31 minutes)/Walked 1 mile

Saturday: Anaheim Hills 10K (54:20)/Abs/Stretch

Sunday: Off

Miles Run: 26

It’s nice to feel normal again. I am such a person of habit and running the last three days (okay I’m a little short on sleep this week but I can deal with that) has felt so good in terms of feeling like life is settling down and getting back to some semblance of normal. Of course it isn’t, really, and most things in life are messy and up in the air right now, but getting back to my normal exercise routine helps me retain a little more of my sanity in the midst of chaos.

Next week’s goals are to get to 28 miles of running and do weights 3 times. Oh my goodness how my arms miss weights!

I still feel very awkward when I walk and much better and less waddle-y when I run. I just didn’t think I’d get into my 9th month and find that the easiest thing for me do for exercise is run.

I do admit though, that I’ve started worrying about what will happen if I run 8 miles on the day I go into labor. Will I still have the energy to push?

Responses

  1. That is actually something you should seriously consider. Labor takes SO MUCH ENERGY and if you’ve just expended a lot running that will effect how your labor goes. It might be worth cutting back a little when you get toward your duedate just for that. And get enough sleep. Oh my word I can’t stress that enough: GET ENOUGH SLEEP. Not that I know from personal experience or anything. 😉

  2. Ingrid, I have to say that I think it’s cool that what you really love (running) is what works best for you in the end as well as in the beginning.


Leave a Reply

Categories

