Posted by: Ingrid | July 8, 2009

Pregnancy: 36 Weeks

35 weeks 0 days: Weight: 149.6 (same)/B:38.5 (same)/W:35.5 (up 0.5″)/H:37.5 (same) T: 22 (same)

IMG_3744

IMG_3749

IMG_3752

35 Weeks 0 Days-

Suddenly I’m at 35 weeks wondering how on earth I got here. Everything seems too close. I NEED MORE THAN 5 WEEKS. Where did the pregnancy go? Where did the time go? How many newborn diapers do I need? What kind of laundry detergent should I be using for baby clothes?

We’ve upgraded to monster baby hiccups that shake my entire stomach. So funny to see!

35 Weeks 1 Day-

I have developed a rash all over my stomach that itches like crazy. (Why do people think that the cure for itching to to forcefully tell a person “Don’t itch it!”? Like that helps.) I’m a little worried that it’s a certain rash that shows up at the end of pregnancy and doesn’t go away until you deliver. Ugh. Not only do I not want to be uncomfortable for that long, but (as any pregnant woman would wonder) how am I supposed to wear a bikini if my stomach looks like it’s gotten chicken pox?

35 Weeks 2 Days-

I found my paper chain the other day. The one that was supposed to get me through 37 weeks of pregnancy. I figure that time is going quite fast enough, thanks very much, and I’ll save it for the final countdown.

35 Weeks 3 Days-

This morning I woke up in the middle of the night, stretched my legs out and developed perhaps the worst leg cramp I’ve ever had in my life. I thought about waking up Clint while yelling, I need an epidural! As pain signals shot to my brain I tried to do deep breathing while unsuccessfully attempting to reach my leg so that I could massage it. All I could do was hope and pray that labor wouldn’t feel like that, so disorienting and excruciating. A friend pointed out later that it was good practice and she’s right, but I can tell you, after that experience, I have no desire to fall asleep and wake up to a contraction once I’m in hard labor!

35 Weeks 4 Days-

I’m ready to be done with my maternity wardrobe. Not that I don’t have a lot of cute stuff, some of which I haven’t even worn. I’m just done with the big belly and miss my cute summer dresses that were fitted at the waist. Plus there’s only so long you can wear the same clothes without getting totally sick of them.

I cannot believe that I am actually contemplating the idea of some sort of postpartum support/belly wrap. Not that I’m averse to trying something along those lines, I’m averse to spending money on something when I don’t know if it works or not! Plus I’d like to exist in two realities postpartum. One in which I wear some sort of band and one where I don’t. I’m just very curious as to how well they work. Maybe it’s vain of me to consider something like that. Too bad there aren’t any free trials for that sort of thing!

35 Weeks 5 Days-

Looking back on the long weekend, the good parts and the more… stressful moments, I find that I really want to be intentional about taking the time to stop and do things I enjoy. I didn’t get everything done over the weekend (and my list was extensive, so I’m not surprised) but there were some really good moments in between going through boxes and baby stuff and cleaning and writing thank you cards that were very restful. I need to take the time even when life feels too busy, it’s just so hard to remember.

35 Weeks 6 Days-

9 lunar months pregnant tomorrow! Aaaaaand… on to month 10!

There are a few things that I’m craving. That would be any type of protein source smothered with one of those homemade salsas that involve chopping up some combination of garlic, onion, tomato, mango, berries, cilantro, cucumber, etc. The other craving involves fruit related desserts. Peach cobbler and strawberry pie and anything loaded with lots of summer fruits. Maybe when I am a lady of leisure in a few days (AKA on disability and frantically preparing for a baby) I will cook only those things. I will also sit in the backyard in the morning eating biscotti and drinking coffee.

We had our 36 week doctor’s visit in the evening. Next week I get to start going weekly. Hurray? The nice thing about the visits is that when the NP and her nurse see us their faces light up. It’s nice to be one of those patients, if you know what I mean.

Everything looked good. They tested for strep (please no) and did a blood test to be sure that the rash I have isn’t caused by liver problems. There was a moment of panic (for me) when the NP went to hear Isaac’s heartbeat (he’d just been moving) and couldn’t find it. *insert moment of abject terror for mom*. Oh that’s right… I really need to change these batteries. Don’t do that to a pregnant woman. Just don’t.

Dear Isaac,

My dear sweet son. I wish that I could convince you that using your growing feet to perform sweeping glissandos up and down my ribs is not the best idea ever. Ow. Sometimes I catch myself telling people that you’re “hanging out” in a certain area when in reality you have come, conquered, and invaded and you are EVERYWHERE. But my ribs…? Is nothing sacred?

Sometimes I worry about your spine, especially when, knowing you are head down, I feel one foot slide over to the right and then another. That position can’t be good for anyone. Please don’t make us choose between saving for therapy or chiropractic care.

You have been putting on about an ounce a day, which is some crazy weight gain for someone your size. You’re probably around 19.5-20.5 inches long and weighing in the 5.75-6.75 pound range. Your job now is to store fat and energy and wait (yes, please, wait) for the birth process to start. Despite your growth and cramped quarters, I have not noticed much of a change in your activity. Yes, still active ALL THE TIME. What are you doing in there, little guy? All we can do is wonder when your hands and feet lift my skin into inch high tents. Such a crazy thing to see!

I used to put my hands on my stomach back (oh so far back) when I was in the 20-28 week range and wanted people to know that I was pregnant and not pudgy. Now I can’t keep my hands off because you shift around so much and it’s such an incredible thing to feel. Sometimes, when you’re positioned just right I can rest my whole hand on part of you and feel what must be your little heartbeat because it’s about twice the rate of mine. I’ve never felt anything this amazing.

This past weekend was the first time your lack of scheduling started to stress me out. I don’t know how or when to prepare for you when I don’t know when you’re coming. For some reason this hasn’t bothered me until now and now I don’t know what to do! Do I run myself ragged trying to get everything in place in case you show up early? Do I try to be balanced and still do things I enjoy or do I just operate in task mode until everything is done? And when will everything be done?

Honestly, a five week window is a little much to ask me to work with. Could I get the Isaac upgrade 09 that comes with a day planner?

Just kidding, Isaac. But please keep growing and hanging out in there, Mommy’s still trying to deal with the angst of being unable to plan the details. Because once you’re born, everything will fall right back in place. (Kidding! I’m not that delusional.)

Love,

Mom

Responses

  1. I’m STILL waiting to wear those fitted-waist summer dresses. Not because I don’t have a waist (I do – thank you, Jillian Michaels), but because they don’t work so well with nursing! Next summer though, I tell you . . . šŸ˜€

    hope the rash goes away soon!

  2. I bet your rash will go away when you deliver. It’s probably just from your skin stretching. I’m sure I would be a scratching fool if it were me šŸ™‚

  3. I came across your blog searching running and pregnant. I ran through my 36th week with my daughter and am still running with my third child at 23 weeks. Congratulations and a big high five!

  4. I make my own oils for the belly.
    Just a combo of Wheat germ and Almond, I think I put a bit of Jojoba and Borage. (maybe a bit of lavender) but I don’t need it. I don’t really care if the wheat germ stinks.

    I made my (doesn’t believe in my powers) mom a neck oil out of wheat germ, and other ingredients, and she reluctantly tried it once her Estee Lauder stuff ran out. She claimed it worked miracles and toned her neck up!

    I’ve been rubbing the wheat germ for months, and no itching. And no stretch marks either!

    Cute letter to your son!

  5. Nighttime leg cramps are different from another common nighttime leg problem called restless legs syndrome. ,'”**

    Warmest wishes http://healthmedicinelab.com/strep-throat-treatment/

  6. Too much sprinting and running around can cause leg cramps but leg cramps is usually worst if you are swimming for long periods of time. ,

    See the freshest write-up on our internet site
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/jock-itch-pictures/


Leave a Reply

Categories

