Posted by: Ingrid | July 16, 2009

Pregnancy: 37 Weeks

36 weeks 0 days: Weight: 151/B:38.5 (same)/W:36.5 (up 0.5″)/H:37  (down 0.5″) T: 22 (same)

37 weeks 003

37 weeks 007

37 weeks 008

37 weeks 011

36 Weeks 0 Days-
I have less than a month until the due date.  That is just… crazy.  I think it must be hitting both of us, because I got an direct voicemail at my desk from my husband reminding me that we need to install the car seat, keep the car half full of gas, go over the birth plan, and pack the hospital bags.  Yes, suddenly this big event feels very close.

I didn’t weigh in today because yesterday was just a horrible day in terms of eating.  I’ve found that they’ve come in waves throughout the pregnancy, usually every month or so.  Suddenly there is a day when I don’t care, eat too much, don’t exercise, feel miserable, and wonder why I even try to be healthy.  The next day I wake up, go for a run, and the feeling dissipates.  At least I know by now that it doesn’t hang out for days and days, which is nice.

I am oddly pleased that my girth measurement and my week number match this week.

36 Weeks 1 Day-
It has taken me 2 days to get a load of baby clothes through the washer and dryer.  And I don’t even have to take care of a baby right now!  This does not bode well.  Maybe we’ll stock up on some good sturdy sheets and do toga month after Isaac is born and I can’t manage to get laundry done and no one has anything to wear.

36 Weeks 2 Days-
People are starting to speculate about when they think I’ll go into labor and it’s funny to hear the conflicting opinions.  Some people think I’ll be early because I run and I’m going to “run the baby out”.  Other people think I’ll be late, also because I run.  Some people think I’ll be late because I haven’t gained as much weight while others think I’ll be early because I’ve had such a healthy pregnancy.  Of course, all of the speculation is a segue into personal labor and delivery stories or stories of family and friends that back up this person’s point of view.  I think it’s all kind of funny.  He’s going to show up when he’s ready!

36 Weeks 3 Days-
The weekend has been a whirlwind of wonderful things, like a pre-natal massage (can I begin to express how wonderful it was to lay on my stomach again?) a steak dinner, time with my sweetheart, a maternity photo shoot at Laguna Beach, and a baby shower with friends.  All fantastic stuff.  Unfortunately my pregnant body doesn’t differentiate between annoying busy and wonderful busy and suddenly I am TIRED.  It’s hard keeping track of my tiredness during a pregnancy that feels pretty good.  It always hits later and I never remember it the next time ’round until it’s too late.

36 Weeks 4 Days-
It seems that a lot of baby stuff is all about having options.  you don’t really know that you will or won’t need a bouncer and a swing and a pack n play and a zillion other things until you meet your baby and he or she develops.  But you might.  And that is how Isaac now owns more stuff than Clint and I combined.  Well, except for books.  We have him beat in that category.

36 Weeks 5 Days-
I get into more and more conversations these days about pregnancy and running and exercise.  It’s been strange but nice… I wish I’d had someone like me to talk to before I got pregnant.  I’m finding that a lot of women ask the same sorts of questions and have a lot of the same fears and concerns and I’m glad I can at least be here to listen.

36 Weeks 6 Days-
Last day of work before maternity leave begins.  It would be the most stressful day in a very long time.  That, combined with the fact that, hello!  I’ve been working here 5 years and everyone is stressed and I’m emotional and pregnant and feel underappreciated because of the stress.  Ugh.  Even Isaac moved around like he was stressed all day.  The last thing I want is to stress him out and have him show up early!

Dear Isaac,

Sorry for yesterday’s stress.  I hope that you don’t decide to come early because of it because I AM NOT READY.  Totally excited to meet you, but not ready at all.  Though I do have diapers and wipes and clean clothes and have taken my breastfeeding class, so we could make this work if necessary.  But seriously, I need a little more time.  Maternity leave will be the longest time off that I’ve had in 5 years, so if I could catch a breather (and a few naps) between now and birth, that would be great.

You’re pretty big now, about 21 inches and maybe 6.5-7 pounds.  you are also still happily kicking and punching away in there, even though your uterine home really isn’t going to get much bigger (so say the websites).  I’m also not likely (say the same authorities) to gain much more weight, which I am very happy about.  I can deal with where I am for another 3 weeks, thanks!  It’s strange to me though, that even with very little change (going up and down between 20-22 pounds gained for over a month now and averaging a half inch of belly growth per week) I feel a lot bigger than the changes warrant.  I also find myself getting defensive when people mention that I look small and then say “You must be getting huge and gaining lots of weight now.”  No, it hasn’t been like that at all.  This third trimester has been very steady growth wise, but I am by no means huge.

While you’re in there, developing more brain connections and hanging out to get some last minute touch ups, I’m looking forward to dilation and effacement and more Braxton Hicks contractions.  We won’t even start to talk about which of us gets the better end of the deal here.

We are so excited to meet you in just a few weeks (emphasis on FEW WEEKS, okay?), little guy.

Love,
Mom

Responses

  1. Hey you look so great for 37 weeks pregnant – just a small woman sporting one very baby-supportive belly!! Good work 🙂

  2. I just found your blog while I was searching about advice regarding hiking up Mount Kenya at 33 weeks pregnant….
    You look GREAT – I cant believe how worried you are about the weight gain. Plus I hear breastfeeding sorts it all out!
    6 days ago I found out I am between 4 – 6 weeks pregnant. I have no idea when the first day of my last period was, so it’s really not terribly accurate. However, I am meant to be hiking up Mount Kenya to see an eclipse of the sun (but with porters and a guide who is 74 yrs old!) in January when I will be between 32 & 33 weeks. Do you think you would have felt comfortable doing that at 33 weeks? I have no idea what to expect – I haven’t felt anything other than fatigue so far. I am a fitness instructor, so I’ve always been a sporty person, but I don’t know what to do now. I live in France where docs tend to wrap women in cotton wool during pregnancy so I’m pretty sure I know what the doc will say!!
    Anyway, would love to hear what you think.
    And good luck getting ready!
    best wishes,
    Heike

  3. Wow, one more month! You’re just doing great on the running! I never would have believed it myself, but Heike is right – my daughter is 31 days old today and I am actually having trouble keeping weight ON, which is a first. Breastfeeding is the best diet in the world. Or the best excuse for more chocolate!


Leave a Reply

Categories

