Posted by: Ingrid | July 30, 2009

Everyone’s having babies

When I first got pregnant I suddenly noticed how many people were pushing baby strollers, carrying car seats, or were pregnant themselves.  Kind of like when you buy a new car and then realize that everyone and their grandma drives a Honda Civic, just like you.  It’s been especially fun seeing other people get pregnant after me and to realize just how fast someone else’s pregnancy flies by.  In January I discovered that my best friend in second grade (and much much beyond that) was also pregnant and due right around when I was.

Even when you don’t live in the same town it’s fun knowing that the person who you spent weekends with as a child, who joined you for tea parties, took ballet lessons with you, and helped dig a creek for the Indian village in your backyard is going through the whole pregnancy thing too.

IMG_3913

Her due date was supposed to be August 10 but then it got switched to the end of July, which was sort of sad for me.  I got to see her at a shower in Fresno at the end of June when we finally saw each other pregnant and in person and got to take the perfunctory belly shots together.

IMG_3669

Today I found out that she had her 6 pound 6 ounce baby boy and suddenly I feel that life is so unfair and I will be pregnant forever.  Okay, not really… just the pregnant forever part.

Leave a Reply

Categories

