Posted by: Ingrid | July 30, 2009

Pregnancy: 39 Weeks

38 weeks 0 days: Weight: 151/B:39 (up 0.5″)/W:37 (up 0.5″)/H:37.5 (up 0.5″) T: 22 (same)

IMG_3897

IMG_3899

IMG_3900

IMG_3902

38 Weeks 0 Days-
Well, after today’s impromptu trip to the hospital we finally broke down and installed the car seat.  It wasn’t that I was intentionally putting it off, the manual was just so long and I’d always manage to think of it right about the hottest part of the day.  At which point I would write in on my planner for the next day.  Unfortunately, I’ve been doing that for over 2 weeks now so I’m glad that we finally got it done!

The hospital bag is mostly packed as well, though how anyone can cram all that’s deemed “necessary” in one bag is beyond me!  Perhaps I should say that the luggage set with the boppy and several other miscellaneous bags are packed and ready to be loaded in the car.  Maybe we’ll just take in one bag at a time so we don’t look so goofy.

38 Weeks 1 Day-
I have decided that I don’t care who touches my belly at this point.  The touching felt much more invasive when my stomach felt more like mine.  Now that I can feel someone else’s knees through my skin and my belly bounces of its own accord all day  it really seems like it doesn’t belong to me any more.  So have at it, crazy belly touching public!  The window of time won’t stay open very long.

38 Weeks 2 Days-
I have to say, I’m loving this waiting period because of all the time I’m able to spend around my husband.  How fun!

38 Weeks 3 Days-
Today I finally got to the cleaning that I’d meant to do for several days now.  It turned into a very severe case of cleaning everything in sight, even the doors and walls (something I learned to not see long ago because I hated being given that chore).  Can we say nesting with a vengeance?  Unfortunately, the house is much cleaner but I don’t think I’ll be going into labor early.

38 Weeks 4 Days-
We met with our Bradley instructor today since the classes don’t end until several weeks after my due date.  We covered fun things like emergency childbirth.  On one hand, it seems like it would be so easy.  On the other hand, I want to do my own thing with labor until the baby comes out and then I want medical personnel around.  I guess you can’t have it all.  I think Clint was relieved to find that he just wouldn’t have to do that much in the very slight chance that he’d have to deliver his son.

38 Weeks 5 Days-
I have had in the back of my mind, the thought that this baby is going to show up early.  I was excited last week with the news at my appointments and thought that with all of my practice contractions over the week I’d show up at 3 centimeters.  Instead, I saw a different nurse midwife and found out that I wasn’t dilated at all.  Wait!  What happened to 1.5 from Wednesday?  I almost cried right there in the exam room.  It’s the first time that I felt like I was going to be the first woman to deliver a six year old.  I know it’s ridiculous to feel like that a full 9 days from my due date, but there you go!

38 Weeks 6 Days-
Today we had our last ultrasound.  Aside from the fact that they had me drink lots of water and then kept me waiting for an hour for the tech (seriously, you just can’t do that to someone at the end of their pregnancy –  it really does border on cruel and unusual.) it went well.  I still don’t know the results yet, but no one’s called telling me to go to the hospital to get induced or anything like that.

I was right about how our son is positioned – more like a napping cat than all of those pictures of babies that you see in books.  He’s all curled up, head down, back and bottom on my left side and his feet curled under my ribs and off to the right.  Here’s one foot. said the tech, wand right at my rib line.  Oh, and here’s the other. she followed up, as she put the wand on top of my rib cage.  Yeah, I thought so.  Yet another reason why this guy needs to come out.  NO ROOM.

Dear Isaac,

I really did think that you’d be here by now, or that I’d have some signs pointing in that direction, but no such luck.  I’m now looking at this brief window of time as a fleeting opportunity to play the “Oh but I’m pregnant” card.  That and nap.  And have fun without remembering to change diapers.  I know that technically I’m not supposed to feel like I’ve been pregnant forever until after your due date and I’m still a week away, but I really though that you might be a July baby despite the August due date.  Guess I was wrong.  I don’t think that will be the first time.

It’s not like I’m huge, immobile, or horribly uncomfortable, I just want to move on to the next thing.  This is not necessarily pregnancy related either.  I’ve never like transition times.  I’m the person who could go to Europe for three weeks and, with two days to go, just want to skip them and get home.  And here we are in a transitional holding pattern.  It’s not you, it’s me.  Really.

So you and I are finally about as big as we’re going to get before you’re born and I’m ready to meet you!  I was so excited when we saw the ultrasound around 30 weeks to see your cute little face and get a sneak preview.  This time around, the face shots looked the same, grainy and blurry and not the live-and-in-color version of you that I’m wanting now.  We saw you swallowing and sucking on your fingers which was nice.  I’m glad that you have that skill down, especially since feeding you will be decidedly a joint effort.  Your legs are definitely stronger and you don’t stop moving and squirming (except for last Wednesday when you freaked me out by not moving at all – what was that about, anyway?)  Some websites say that you’re growing hair, but I’m really not sure you’re going to end up with any of that.  You’re also supposed to be putting on baby fat and if downing a pint of Ben and Jerry’s would help with that and evict you a little faster I am more than willing to try!

Oooh.  Ice cream.  That sounds like a great idea!  I’ll see you later kiddo.  Come soon!

Love,
Mom

Leave a Reply

Categories

