Posted by: Ingrid | August 1, 2009

Maternity Photos

Way back, three weeks ago, at the point I thought that I would be popping out a baby very very soon, we had some pictures taken.  I remember being so relieved to get them done because I was sure I’d be going into labor soon and it would have been a shame to miss the opportunity.  Seriously, if you’re going to grow a belly for 9 months you need some sort of documentation of the end result, right?  So Clint arranged for a friend at work to meet us down at Shaw’s Cove at Laguna Beach, the beach where he’d proposed almost 3 years before.

It was an absolutely beautiful day with white foam topping the waves and a perfectly blue sky.  When I looked at the pictures later I sort of understood how people could ask, “You do realize that you’re moving from California to Michigan, right?”, implying that we have no idea how much we’ll be missing out on.  I suppose it would be one thing if we actually lived at Laguna Beach, but the only way to get someplace like that is to fight our way through an hour of traffic or figure out how to make significantly more money so that we can afford the beautiful locale.  The thing I like about Michigan is that the beauty is equal opportunity beauty.  I wish I could show people who make comments about the move the strip mall and busy street that we’d normally see when we walked out of our overpriced, 550 square foot, 1 bedroom apartment.

IMG_4203

IMG_4215

IMG_4232

IMG_4236

IMG_4283

IMG_4287

IMG_4295

IMG_4315

Responses

  1. Remind them that there are beaches (at the lakes) EVERYWHERE in Michigan – and that you don’t have to pay to park at them either! =)

  2. I LOVE that last picture. Beautiful. Hey, I blogged about you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

