Posted by: Ingrid | August 18, 2009

His gain is my loss

I never thought that I would spend my first week not pregnant thinking more about my baby gaining weight than me losing it.  But I have.  I knew that it was normal for babies to lose weight the first few days and that the doctors didn’t like to see more than a 10% loss.  So when Isaac dropped 8 oz. overnight and then proceeded to lose another ounce the following day, I started getting worried.  So worried, in fact, that when the nurse took him out to weigh and measure him (why is the best time for this at 2:00 am?) I fell back asleep and had some crazy dream that the nurse had come back in and told me that he’d lost more weight and they’d decided that they needed to supplement with a thousand calories of fruit loops and yogurt.  I tried to explain that I wanted to go a different route, but she wouldn’t listen.  Yes, I was just a little paranoid.

No worries though, because Isaac had regained his birth weight by his 4 day appointment.  I’ve never been so proud!  Way to pack on those ounces, kid.  I also think he might be on his way to a double chin.

As for me, I haven’t counted calories (obviously) but was sort of curious what I could expect at 1 week postpartum.  So here we are.

Weight: 135.4 (down 15.5)

Bust: 38.5 (same)

Hips: 36.5 (down 1″)

Thigh: 22 (same)

Aside from the fact that my belly button seems to have migrated to a higher location, I feel very normal, like I never was pregnant.

So for those of you worried about what it will be like after pregnancy, I haven’t found the experience to be bad at all.  My stomach is flabbier, but not nearly as puffy as I thought it would be.  Here we have one week postpartum.

IMG_4138

IMG_4139

Responses

  1. wow – you sure you were actually pregnant and some stork didn’t just drop Isaac off?….

  2. Michelle, it does sort of feel that way. I saw a picture on my dad’s computer from a few weeks ago and seriously blurted out, “Oh my Goodness! I was pregnant!” But I remember labor so there was definitely no stork involved! 😛

  3. Wow Ingrid. You look great. Not that I ever thought for a second your body wouldn’t respond exactly how it has. Isn’t it amazing? When you’re out in public with Isaac people won’t think you’re his mother because there is no way you could have just given birth!

  4. Wow, you look amazing! Have you been using a compression wrap?

    P.S. I am a runner and 6 months pregnant with my first child. I have really enjoyed reading your blog!!

    • Hi Katherine, I haven’t used any wraps. Partly I didn’t want to spend the money and partly I wanted to see how my body would respond without any interventions. I’m pretty pleased with the results!

  5. You’re looking awesome! Thanks for the post-baby updates – very helpful and encouraging to us runners who are, or are thinking of becoming, pregnant.

  6. Congratulations! I’m so curious as to what my body will look like and respond post-baby – I hope it’s similar! I’m 6.5 months pregnant and still ‘training’ (I’m a triathlete) and though reading your blog makes me feel I’m a bit lazy at the moment, it has helped me get through my slow training/tapering time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

