Posted by: Ingrid | September 17, 2009

I wasn’t going to run right after having a baby, was I?

So I really thought that I was going to go six weeks without running.  No really, I did.  Partly I thought it would be a good break for my body after pregnancy plus it would give that nagging groin injury ample time to heal.  I also thought it would be good mentally to take a break, plus doctors tell you not to do anything too strenuous before six weeks and I love following doctors’ advice.

All I can say is that it’s a good thing I do running and not drugs.

I had great aspirations but in the end there was just too much change, too much stress, and too much unfamiliarity to not go back to running as soon as I possibly could.  I tried at 1 week postpartum (I’d say don’t tell my doctor, but I don’t have one currently, so it doesn’t really matter).  I ran 0.25 miles and decided that it didn’t feel great and I didn’t feel like possibly hemorrhaging somewhere in my old neighborhood so I stopped.  At 11 days I went out again and ran four miles, tentatively.  I sort of felt like Noah after the flood, sending out all those birds and wondering if they were going to find dry land and he’d be able to get off the ark.  After that, running felt do-able, aside from the fact that, Wait! I had a newborn to take care of!

Since moving I’ve been able to get in more running, thanks to Clint coming home and letting me go out to get a break.  Plus running in a new place helps me feel like its home so I’m really doing this in hopes of acclimating faster.  Right.  So my post partum running so far has looked like:

Week 1: No running

Week 2: 4.25 miles

Week 3: 11 miles

Week 4: 22 miles

Week 5: 28 miles (10 mile long run – first in a very long time!  Took 1:33.)

Week 6: (18 miles as of Wednesday.  Yesterday was my first run where I was able to get most of my miles under 9 minutes, which felt wonderful.)

I haven’t had any adverse side effects and it’s a whole lot easier running without the pregnant belly.  I’ve been taking it slow, averaging 9:30 minute miles, sometimes going faster and sometimes slower.  I’m hoping to hit 30 miles during this week (week 6) and am still thinking about a half marathon down the road on October 10th or 11th.  If I do it I know it will be slow and that’s hard to deal with, but it seems like such a shame to pass up an event that is practically on my doorstep.  Plus I hear they get snow in Michigan, so I should go running while the sun shines (and the snow doesn’t fall), right?

Responses

  1. I just want to say I’ve been following your blog for a while now and you have inspired me to start my own pregnancy blog! Keep up the good work!

  2. Amazing!!! You’re definitely listening to yourself (in terms of pace – fast some days, slower others) and that’s probably attributing to your increased mileage. Congrats!

  3. Awesome! I am so happy for you. Definitely no reason to wait 6 weeks if you feel fine. I waited 6 days and had no long term negative effects.


Leave a Reply

Categories

