Posted by: Ingrid | October 1, 2009

Jillian, my new found friend

IMG_4866

Back when I was pregnant I started thinking ahead to what I could do for strength training once I’d moved across the country and was staying at home.  I had a feeling that getting out might be a little tricky (especially since strength training is the first thing to slip for me (gee… has it really been a month since I’ve done weights?  How did that happen?!?)).

After reading Jess’s post on Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD and looking around online I figured that for just under $10 and with free shipping it was worth investigating.

Now, I am skeptical of anything that promises a good workout in 20 minutes but I figured if the three workouts were really easy I could just do all three, one right after another.

Ow.  That thought now makes me cringe.

I finally got around to opening the DVD last week and did the level 1 workout.  To my surprise, it not only made me sweat but just using the 5 pound weights that I had made my arms sore.  This was not something I expected.

This week my (somewhat naïve) thought was that I would run Monday through Wednesday (7/6/7 miles) while doing the video each day as well.  That lasted two days.  Until I woke up on Wednesday feeling like I’d been hit by a truck.  Let’s just say that after doing level 2 on Monday I will not be moving to level 3 anytime soon.  It hurt to lift a mascara wand after that workout!

Jillian does an excellent job working multiple muscle groups and the 20 minutes goes fast!  I love how it keeps my heart rate up while incorporating strength training and ab work.  And all this in only 20 minutes!  It’s great!  Plus Jillian makes me laugh.  I doubt we could be good friends but she’d be fun (is fun the right word?) to have as a trainer or coach.  I mean, anyone who yells “At the end of this two minutes of cardio I want you to be gargling your heart” is okay in my book.

I would definitely give this video two enthusiastic thumbs up.  If I could lift my arms high enough, that is.  After finding these wonderful workouts I have just one thing to say.

Jillian, we have an upstairs room if you ever want to move in!

Responses

  1. Ingrid, I’m so glad you liked this. I’m still doing it, what? 7 or 8 months later? Pretty good staying power for a DVD, I’d say.

    If you get to the point where you want something longer, I’ve since gotten her “Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism” (mostly cardio) and “No More Trouble Zones” (mostly weights/body weight). They’re both closer to an hour. They have one or two spots that aren’t quite as hard-core as 30 Shred, but you kind of need that to get through a whole hour of Shred-ish stuff. Anyway, the reviews on Amazon are pretty thorough, if you want to look into them. Since they’re longer, sometimes I’ll do half of one one day and the second half the next.

    Again, glad you like them! Isn’t it nice to find something that works – be it DVD or diapers? 😉

    • Jess, it’s good to hear that you’re still enjoying (is that the right word?) Jillian’s DVD. I’ll definitely look into the other ones as well. It’s really nice to have something that I can do at home that really works me!

  2. That workout kicked my sorry butt and showed me how weak I really am! And that was after a half marathon.

    • Lisa, I’m surprised at how hard it was too! It continually amazes me how being a strong runner doesn’t mean that you’re strong in all areas. 20 minutes of Jillian is hard!

  3. You’ve inspired me to look for this DVD.

  4. wow, blog networking is interesting. I’m going to record my own DVD workout. It’s called Hubby with no Tubby…it will sell!


Leave a Reply

Categories

