Posted by: Ingrid | October 24, 2009

The greatest nation

Procrastination is the greatest nation in the world, a friend of  mine used to often say.  I can procrastinate with the best of them (though I always leave a buffer zone to make sure things really do get done), but I didn’t realize how much of a daily thing it was for me until I had a baby.  I never thought that one thing I’d miss the most was the ability to procrastinate.

Procrastination, how I miss you!  Not that I’m unable to do it, but if I do put off cleaning up the kitchen and writing some thank you cards or throwing the laundry in at key moments there just isn’t time later and things (sometimes important things) don’t get done.  Sometimes I wish that I still had the luxury of curling up on the couch to read instead of starting in on the very daily very routine things that just have to keep going around the house.  I don’t think I’ve ever gone this long without at full night’s sleep and without procrastinating on a daily basis.

I miss them both.  It doesn’t surprise me that I miss the sleep, but it just doesn’t sound right to say that I miss having the opportunity to procrastinate, does it?

Responses

  1. “Sometimes I wish that I still had the luxury of curling up on the couch to read instead of starting in on the very daily very routine things that just have to keep going around the house. ”

    Oh, ME TOO!!!

  2. I was wondering if you would ever get around to posting about this!

    • It’s actually taken me two weeks. Stop laughing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

